![]() |
Shooting Technical
NFHS Rules. 3 part question. During second quarter team A player 1 receives a T for baiting an opponent. B6 comes into the game to shoot the free throws and B1 goes out of the game. B6 misses the first free throw and B7 comes in for B6 to shoot the second free throw. Can B1 then return and replace B7 without the ball becoming alive or does B1 have to set out at least 1 tick of the clock?
#2 Can B6 and B7 shoot the free throws without a member of team B being replaced? (Have 6 players on the floor) #3 During warm ups, A1 is charged a T for dunking. A member of Team B can shoot the free throws, but does one of the starting 5 for team B have to sit out the throw in at half court by team B? Can you provide the rule? |
1) B1 still must sit (and, now, so must B6)
2) No, only five players at a time 3) Yes, someone must sit out. It's a substitution, so the same rule as always applies. |
Quote:
2. Are 6 players every allowed? What is the penalty for 6 players? And why in the heck would you think its ok? 3. Since there is a T before the start of the game then the coach is allowed to have any player shoot the T's - there is no "sit a tick" requirement here see 3-2-2a. |
Any sub that comes out the game has to sit at least a tick off the clock before re-entering the game. The ball being live or not has no bearing on this issue.
Anyone can shoot a T FT as long as they are eligible to play in the game. Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
A sub (B6) can come in for any of the starters (B1-B5) to shoot the FT(s). Whoever goes out must stay out through the completion of the ensuing throwin (let's not complicate this with a subsequent foul / violation, etc). B6 could shoot the FTs and then be replaced by B7 -- B6 would then also have to remain out until the completion of the ensuing throwin |
Quote:
Consult your Case Book before you tell Bob that's he's incorrect. One used to have to find this in the Simplified & Illustrated book, but this ruling was actually put into the Case Book in 2008-09 as 8.3 8.3 SITUATION: A technical foul is issued prior to the start of the game and the game begins with free throws. Non-starter, A6, is brought in to the game to attempt the free throws and replaces starter A5. RULING: Legal substitute. The ball becomes live to start the game when placed at A6’s disposal. A6 and A5 are subject to proper substitution rules. A5 may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been properly started. (3-2-2a; 3-3-4) |
3-2-2
After the 10 minute time limit specified in article 1, a team is charged with a maximum of one t foul regardless of how many infractions of the following are committed (see 10-1-2 penalty); a. changing a designated starter, unless necessitates by illness, injury, illegal equipment or apparel, etc., or to attempt a technical foul free throw. is there a reference to where this person must sit? because changing a designated starter would imply just that. A new set of 5 players are starting the game and anyone on the bench is allowed to be subbed in when the FT's are completed. EDIT: I posted this before Nevada's citation. thank you. |
Had a game where one of the starters dunked in warm-ups. Coach (former official) was pissed and wanted to punish him by not letting him start. Told him he could sub him out after the free throws.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Look at 8-3 that makes it clear anyone can shoot a free throw for a technical. And this is also listed in 8.3 in the casebook, the exact example of this OP question. Peace |
Quote:
I didn't think the wording was ambiguous or needed more research until Nevada brought up the case play because to me that sentence pretty much spells out what can be done. |
Quote:
My understanding is a designated starter is someone you list in the book. If you do not change the starter, what you are allowed to do does not apply. Just like if a player got injured or sick, I hope you are not preventing them to have a sub if that is clearly the case? Peace |
Quote:
The case play changes things, obviously. |
Quote:
The case play makes it clear you have not violated the spirit of the rule in 10-1-2 IMO. Peace |
Quote:
The anyone can shoot a T is a completely separate rule that has nothing to do with 3-2-2a. Absent the exception in 3-2-2a I would argue that a designated starter would have to shoot the T's and that 8-3 would not apply since substitutes are not eligible until the ball has become live to start a game. So the first opportunity would be after the first FT on the T. |
Quote:
If you are still arguing what the rule should be, that is why the case book has a play covering this situation. Peace |
Quote:
If you changed a designated starter at say the 4 minute mark because of apparel and there was a T for dunking. After the T's are shot the coach says the original starter is now dressed properly and would like to enter the game. Would you deny him re-entry until the clock has been legally started? |
Quote:
The case play clears it all up, though. |
Quote:
And you are not changing the starter, you are allowed to have anyone shoot that is eligible. Subs are eligible. Yes I would deny entry of any player removed until the clock has started first, just like any other sub situation. Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am. |