The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket Interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100754-basket-interference.html)

BigT Tue Jan 26, 2016 02:23pm

Basket Interference?
 
A1 is driving to the basket, A1 gets past B1 as he nears the block and B2 steps over to play help defense. B2 fouls A1 as he is shooting a little floater by the block. My partner is L and he calls the foul. The ball is in the air and it hits the glass and then hits the rim hard and as the ball hits the rim and bounces straight up, staying within the cylinder, and as the ball leaves the rim to go straight up A2 jumps up and grabs the net. He didn't pull the net hard where the rim snapped down, he just grabbed it enough to tighten it. A2 released the net before the ball came back down and through the goal.

What is the ruling? As T, what information do you provide your L?

BryanV21 Tue Jan 26, 2016 02:34pm

Count the bucket. As long as the ring returns to its initial position, before the ball gets to the ring, we're ok.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Tue Jan 26, 2016 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 978207)
As T, what information do you provide your L?

"It went in."

BI is touching the BALL while the BALL is within the imaginary cylinder or touching the ball or basket while the ball is on or in the basket.

Touching the BASKET while the BALL is in the imaginary cylinder is nothing (usually).

BillyMac Tue Jan 26, 2016 06:39pm

Let's Go To The List ...
 
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 26, 2016 07:00pm

Technical foul charged to A2.
A1's basket counts as this is not BI.

BillyMac Tue Jan 26, 2016 07:18pm

Prevent Injury ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 978268)
Technical foul charged to A2.

Unless A2 tried to prevent an injury. Since there was no mention of injury prevention in the original post, I agree.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1