The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Out of bounds call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100750-out-bounds-call.html)

Ballbasketball Tue Jan 26, 2016 05:59am

Out of bounds call
 
Team 1, Player A makes an attempt to inbound the ball. Player A passes the ball, the ball is deflected back to the player. The ball hits the floor out of bounds then hits Player A who was taking the ball out. Who gets possession? Team 2?,

Jay R Tue Jan 26, 2016 06:28am

Who touched the ball last before it touched out of bounds?

BillyMac Tue Jan 26, 2016 07:14am

It Depends ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ballbasketball (Post 978125)
Team 1, Player A makes an attempt to inbound the ball. Player A passes the ball, the ball is deflected back to the player. The ball hits the floor out of bounds then hits Player A who was taking the ball out. Who gets possession?

It depends on who deflected the ball. Since that information isn't given in the post, we can't answer the question.

Raymond Tue Jan 26, 2016 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ballbasketball (Post 978125)
Team 1, Player A makes an attempt to inbound the ball. Player A passes the ball, the ball is deflected back to the player. The ball hits the floor out of bounds then hits Player A who was taking the ball out. Who gets possession? Team 2?,

Why would you think the ball is still live after hitting out-of-bounds (OOB)?

bob jenkins Tue Jan 26, 2016 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ballbasketball (Post 978125)
Team 1, Player A makes an attempt to inbound the ball. Player A passes the ball, the ball is deflected back to the player. The ball hits the floor out of bounds then hits Player A who was taking the ball out. Who gets possession? Team 2?,

Agreed with the above answers. And, for further reference, Teams are A (usually the offense) and B. Players are 1-5.

Ballbasketball Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:14am

No the ball is dead once it hits the floor out of bounds. The defense deflected the ball. A patched official said the defense gets the ball after deflecting the ball out of bounds, hits the floor then touches the inbounder.

JRutledge Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:18am

Well none of us where there. It seem like something is missing in this story.

Peace

UNIgiantslayers Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ballbasketball (Post 978162)
No the ball is dead once it hits the floor out of bounds. The defense deflected the ball. A patched official said the defense gets the ball after deflecting the ball out of bounds, hits the floor then touches the inbounder.

I'm not sure I could have contained laughter at that point. Similar to the other night when a guy tried to get me to count a bucket after a charge because "the ball had left his hand before he contacted the defender."

Camron Rust Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ballbasketball (Post 978162)
No the ball is dead once it hits the floor out of bounds. The defense deflected the ball. A patched official said the defense gets the ball after deflecting the ball out of bounds, hits the floor then touches the inbounder.

Only if the ball turns red and blue while in flight and then changes shape into Optimus Prime.

jpgc99 Tue Jan 26, 2016 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers (Post 978165)
I'm not sure I could have contained laughter at that point. Similar to the other night when a guy tried to get me to count a bucket after a charge because "the ball had left his hand before he contacted the defender."

Well, that at least used to be the rule in NCAA-M. It isn't the rule anymore, but at least there is some historic basis for his ruling.

In the OP, it just doesn't make any sense at all.

Adam Tue Jan 26, 2016 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ballbasketball (Post 978162)
No the ball is dead once it hits the floor out of bounds. The defense deflected the ball. A patched official said the defense gets the ball after deflecting the ball out of bounds, hits the floor then touches the inbounder.

What sort of patch?

Are you sure the patched official thought it bounced OOB? Or did he think/rule that it bounced in bounds and then touched the thrower who was still OOB?

so cal lurker Tue Jan 26, 2016 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 978183)
Well, that at least used to be the rule in NCAA-M. It isn't the rule anymore, but at least there is some historic basis for his ruling.

In the OP, it just doesn't make any sense at all.

Used to be the rule in HS, too.

Adam Tue Jan 26, 2016 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 978186)
Used to be the rule in HS, too.

When?

Amesman Tue Jan 26, 2016 01:11pm

Seems the OP must be wrongly worded. I'd bet the scenario this patched guy is talking about is if the ball is deflected, bounces on the playing surface and then bounds back up into the hands of the inbounder who is still OOB. (But ball hasn't hit OOB yet.)

At least that's what I'm going with for you, BallBasketball. Work with me here.

Mark Padgett Tue Jan 26, 2016 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978185)
What sort of patch?

http://www.thecheapplace.com/image/c...ch-400x320.jpg

Nevadaref Tue Jan 26, 2016 07:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 978186)
Used to be the rule in HS, too.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978187)
When?

Indeed it was. Prior to 1983 according to the NFHS Handbook.

Adam Tue Jan 26, 2016 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 978270)
Indeed it was.

Do we need to send Jr. into the attic? I honestly remember it being this way for as long as I knew about differences between rules, but that doesn't really mean a whole lot.

BillyMac Tue Jan 26, 2016 07:21pm

If You Could Just See The Look On Their Faces ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978272)
Do we need to send Jr. into the attic? I honestly remember it being this way for as long as I knew about differences between rules, but that doesn't really mean a whole lot.

It was great. Basket counts on this end, shoot the one and one (assuming bonus) down the other end. Both coaches don't know whether to yell at you, or not. They just stood there dumbfounded.

so cal lurker Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 978270)
Indeed it was. Prior to 1983 according to the NFHS Handbook.

Timing sounds right -- I played in the early 80's and remember shooting 1 and 1 (there was no double bonus back then) on after-the-release charges when the shot went in. As I recall back then, refs were also far more willing to call a charge when the defender was under or nearly under the basket -- the idea being that the shooter was obligated to make his shot without making that illegal contact, even if the only reason for the defender to set up there was to make him have to make the shot under control without the contact. (Back then also true that only the NBA had the team control foul concept, so illegal screens could lead to FTs, too.)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 978127)
It depends on who deflected the ball. Since that information isn't given in the post, we can't answer the question.


Bill:

Very astute observation.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 978171)
Only if the ball turns red and blue while in flight and then changes shape into Optimus Prime.


Camron:

Optimus Prime! I see that your kids took you with them to those movies too. LOL!

MTD, Sr.

JRutledge Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 978370)
Camron:

Optimus Prime! I see that your kids took you with them to those movies too. LOL!

MTD, Sr.

Depending on the age of an adult, we grew up with that cartoon which is now a movie. ;)

Peace

Camron Rust Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 978370)
Camron:

Optimus Prime! I see that your kids took you with them to those movies too. LOL!

MTD, Sr.

My kids? Nah. That isn't their kind of movie. ;)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 978389)
My kids? Nah. That isn't their kind of movie. ;)


You must not have boys, LOL!

MTD, Sr.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 28, 2016 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 978394)
You must not have boys, LOL!

MTD, Sr.

Nope.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1