The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block/Charge-Delaware v Drexel women's game? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100747-block-charge-delaware-v-drexel-womens-game.html)

SCalScoreKeeper Mon Jan 25, 2016 06:56pm

Block/Charge-Delaware v Drexel women's game?
 
Can one of our video gurus pull the block/charge at 39 minutes into the Delaware/Drexel women's game? It's on Youtube-ruled a block on the floor by the official.Also the double foul called at 43:57? What about this play necessitated a 2nd monitor review?

Nevadaref Mon Jan 25, 2016 07:08pm

I went and watched it on YouTube.
Clearly a charge.

SCalScoreKeeper Mon Jan 25, 2016 07:14pm

Exactly what I thought Nevada-what about the 2nd play?

Nevadaref Mon Jan 25, 2016 07:44pm

My search turned up a 3:00 minute video of the highlights, so your second play is not included.

SCalScoreKeeper Mon Jan 25, 2016 08:01pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0U4fl9W3IA
Here's the full feed.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 26, 2016 01:21am

My thoughts on the second play about which you inquire:
1. I believe that this is a common foul by white for holding. I don't agree with the double personal foul decision.
2. The first review was to look for a possible flagrant foul by white because blue was injured.
3. In my opinion, the second review was to determine if either team gained control of the rebound before the double foul. They simply wanted this information for the application of the POI rule in restarting the game. (I doubt that this is something listed as reviewable, but I think that the crew did it anyway.). Neither team had the ball and the AP arrow was used.

JetMetFan Tue Jan 26, 2016 08:17am

Yeah, play #1 was a PC. The L was locked and loaded to send that the other way. I'm surprised the UD bench missed that part, though my guess is the coaching staff noticed when it looked over the game video. Definitely a play the L and C would have discussed in the locker room.

Play #2, I'm not exactly sure why it was called a DF. It appears as though the Delaware player hooked the right arm of the Drexel player. I can't see what the Drexel player did wrong.

Raymond Thu Jan 28, 2016 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 978119)
...
3. In my opinion, the second review was to determine if either team gained control of the rebound before the double foul. They simply wanted this information for the application of the POI rule in restarting the game. (I doubt that this is something listed as reviewable, but I think that the crew did it anyway.). Neither team had the ball and the AP arrow was used.

Last night I actually worked a D3 game behind one of the officials from this game. Said the review was to ensure there were no flagrant elements to the play.

Nevadaref Thu Jan 28, 2016 08:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 978453)
Last night I actually worked a D3 game behind one of the officials from this game. Said the review was to ensure there were no flagrant elements to the play.

Isn't that what they looked at the FIRST time that they went to the monitor? The question by the OP inquires about the second time that the crew visited the monitor during this stoppage after coming together and having a conversation.

I don't find it credible that the crew was looking for flagrant activity both times viewing the monitor.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1