![]() |
Quote:
|
The OP as written, I'd be most likely to play on and not issue a T. No press, so the coach did not disrupt play. He had a brain fart and wasn't being argumentative. If the other coach said anything I'd tell him I would have done the same thing for him. I do not think this situation, as written, is T-worthy.
|
I tend to agree with Adam. If this is clearly a miscommunication by the coach, I'm going to try to avoid a T (unless, of course, he does interfere with the play). I would also look at the spirit of the rule. I know this isn't a directly applicable analogy, but I liken it to the kid who takes the ball out of bounds after his team scores, but is clearly confused on the play. I'm not giving one there unless I have to, and I'm not giving one here unless I have to.
|
Quote:
I don't think this scenario is very similar, and I realize you said that right off the bat, but the kid was deliberately doing something wrong in yours, and absolutely needed to get a T (And depending on how hard he threw the ball, he might even be leaving the game for good) whereas in the OP, it was clearly a mistake out of confusion. |
Quote:
Exactly! To the opposing coach: if I even thought this was intentional I would have whacked him. We got a great game going - let's get back to basketball. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
There's no inadvertent whistle. No one said TO. No player thinks there is a TO. There's zero confusion for me to give this coach any room to leave the coaching box. |
Quote:
In the OP, I do not know many coaches just entering the court until they are supposed to like an official actually grants a timeout. Peace |
Quote:
No, that's the *letter* of the rule. The spiriit could be the same...or not. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The coach shall remain seated on the team bench, except: The coach gets to stay in his box. If he leaves the box it's a technical. Almost all coaches follow this rule so why are we giving the misbehaving ones a pass? |
Quote:
As written, he brainfarted, and I'm not punishing him unless he interfered with the play somehow. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the other coach asks, I'll give him the "I'd do the same for you" and add that if he had interfered with play, I would have called it. |
Quote:
Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situations if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: A) Tech B) delay of game warning c/d/e) blah blah blah. Comment: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be follow except the tech. If it's the second delay-of-game there is a tech. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35pm. |