![]() |
Player on court during time out
What would you call or do?
Shooting foul is called near the end of the game on B1. Coach for team A calls a time out and A1 goes out and practices free throws during the time out. NFHS: Rule 1-13-3 ART. 3 . . . The time-out area shall be the area inside an imaginary rectangle formed by the boundaries of the sideline (including the bench), end line, and animaginary line extended from the free-throw lane line nearest the bench area meeting an imaginary line extended from the coaching-box line. |
How did he get the ball?
|
Tell him that he needs to stay in the TO area with his team and good luck on the shots...
|
Quote:
|
Rule 2-7-4: The officials shall conduct the game according to the rules. This includes: ... Prohibiting practice during a dead ball, except between halves.
It seems to me that a player technical foul for unsporting behavior is appropriate for violating this rule. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
What would an NFL referee do if a FG kicker was out on the field practicing during a time-out with 2 seconds left just before his team was to attempt a FG? I don't see any way to not throw a flag and penalize 15 yards for unsporting conduct. There are certain things that players just can't do. |
Quote:
He's certainly not afraid to break into jail, is he? Most likely the player just doesn't know the rule and the coach doesn't either, or he's just oblivious. That's not unsporting. So I say, "hey, stop, you're not allowed to do that; go back to your bench." That's me "prohibiting" the act or conduct, not penalizing it. Now if my direction is ignored, THAT's unsporting and I would not hesitate to penalize at that point. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Not being aware of the rule isn't an excuse.
Once he does the act, he is subject to being penalized. If a team isn't aware that having a thrower remain out of bounds is illegal are you going to fail to penalize them? What about if a team has screeners lock arms while setting a double screen? Sorry, but it is the responsibility of the coach and team to know the playing rules. |
If officials stay with the ball there is no need for discussions like this.
|
A couple of times this year I have had teams try to use the "whole court" to warm up before the game when the opposing team left for a while. (NCAAW, but I don't think it matters.)
I just told them "no." Issuing a T didn't even come close to entering my mind. Same thing here. |
Quote:
Quote:
As others have said, there's three ways to prevent this from happening, preferably used in this order: 1) Have the official who will be administering the free throw/throw-in hold the ball during the time-out. 2) "Hey, you can't do that. You need to go back to your bench" 3) Whack. If you do #1, the other two should never be an issue, unless the player somehow gets a hold of one of the warm-up balls. |
Quote:
Don't be the "gotcha" referee. Do your job and don't let him get there -- tell him to stop. If he doesn't stop, well, then he has done something unsporting. |
couldn't you just go Joey Crawford on them and attempt the block shot?
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'm going to acknowledge BNR's objection, but the fact is, there are often quite a few balls floating around a gym. Probably not so much in a high school sanctioned game, but it's still possible and not unheard of for little Jimmy to keep a warmup ball in a bag at the bench. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
There is one college assignor in the area, however, that tells his officials to put it on the floor for all timeouts. |
The problem that I have with some of the responses is that one cannot instruct someone to not do something which they've already done. You can't unshoot the practice FTs. That player has now gained an unfair advantage specifically prohibited by the rules. Therefore, I am of the strong opinion that this now must be penalized. That is what restores the balance for the opposing team.
Perhaps a better parallel for this situation is when a team spills water on the court during a time-out. The officials can't just tell them to clean it up. The rule has been infringed. Not only does the court need to be cleaned up, but the team needs to be issued a delay warning or a technical foul if previously warned. Another analogous situation seems to be changing a jersey inside the visual confines of the gym. Once the team member removes his shirt he has earned the T. You can't tell him to put it back on or to go outside and finish changing. It's too late. The act has been committed and the penalty is warranted. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's the officials job to make sure the players aren't out on the court to shoot around. If you let it happen, giving the player a T is ridiculous. If my partner is blabbing along to fans or something on the other side of the court I'm telling the player to get back. If he doesn't, then sure, T him up. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
I don't agree unless his actions are penalized with 1 practice shot for the offended team. That would restore balance. Giving the offended team a chance to acquire a point would not be a balance. Furthermore, if a tech is called, the offended team gets 2 shots at acquiring points. That is definitely not restored balance. :cool: |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08pm. |