The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   RA Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100600-ra-play.html)

The_Rookie Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:06am

RA Play
 
A friend asked me to post this play...

"Team B is pressing in Team A's backcourt just after the throw-in. B1 steals a pass between A3 and A1, and A3 is established in the RA when contact is made. Is this a block or a charge?"

SC Official Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:29pm

NCAA men's

Wouldn't this be a block since all defenders are secondary in an outnumbering fastbreak situation?

SoInZebra Sat Jan 02, 2016 06:50pm

If A3 had established legally it's a charge. He's a primary defender. The outnumbered rule would apply if the offense outnumbered defense

BillyMac Sat Jan 02, 2016 07:08pm

Math ?? I Didn't Know This Would Involve Math ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 974972)
... in an outnumbering fastbreak situation?

Quote:

Originally Posted by SoInZebra (Post 974984)
... outnumbered rule would apply if the offense outnumbered defense

Makes me glad that I only work high school. Are you allowed to use a calculator?

JRutledge Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974989)
Makes me glad that I only work high school. Are you allowed to use a calculator?

If you cannot figure that out, you need to stay at high school. Well you would not get a shot wearing a belt either, but that is another story. :p

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1