![]() |
Basket Interference - NFHS vs. NBA
The NFHS and NBA uses somewhat similar words in expressing this part of their respective basket interference rules . . .
NFHS: "...touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base." NBA: "...shall not touch the ball or the basket ring when the ball is using the basket ring as its lower base." . . . but are the two rules actually different? What got me thinking is the explanation stated in this excerpted clip from something I found online: NBA Basket Interference Explanation - Ronnie Nunn Putting all this together, is it correct that the play in the video would be BI by NFHS rule but not BI by NBA rules? Parsing the words of each rule seems to suggest yes, because though the words "the basket ring as its lower base" are used in both, they really seem to be saying two different things. Is that correct? |
Yes, the two are different.
NBA: If the ball is in contact with the rim and more than half the ball is outside the rim (or the bottom of the ball is below the rim and outside), it is legal to play the ball. NFHS: The ball has to be entirely outside the cylinder before it is legal to touch it. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am. |