The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   9-3-3 Interpretation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100549-9-3-3-interpretation.html)

t2baldwin Wed Dec 23, 2015 09:28pm

9-3-3 Interpretation
 
Had a situation where A had a spot throw in on the end line. Ball was handed to A1 for the throw in. A2 ran off the court over the end line. I whistled the violation for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason invoking 9-3-3.

Thoughts and opinions welcome.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Dec 23, 2015 09:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by t2baldwin (Post 973870)
Had a situation where A had a spot throw in on the end line. Ball was handed to A1 for the throw in. A2 ran off the court over the end line. I whistled the violation for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason invoking 9-3-3.

Thoughts and opinions welcome.


NFHS Basketball Rule 9, Section 2, Article 11 would be the correct rule, not R9-S3-A3.

MTD, Sr.

BigCat Wed Dec 23, 2015 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by t2baldwin (Post 973870)
Had a situation where A had a spot throw in on the end line. Ball was handed to A1 for the throw in. A2 ran off the court over the end line. I whistled the violation for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason invoking 9-3-3.

Thoughts and opinions welcome.

It is a violation under this section or 9-2-11. No teammate of thrower shall be out of bounds after a spot throw in begins.

BktBallRef Thu Dec 24, 2015 02:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by t2baldwin (Post 973870)
Had a situation where A had a spot throw in on the end line. Ball was handed to A1 for the throw in. A2 ran off the court over the end line. I whistled the violation for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason invoking 9-3-3.

Thoughts and opinions welcome.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 973872)
NFHS Basketball Rule 9, Section 2, Article 11 would be the correct rule, not R9-S3-A3.

MTD, Sr.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 973873)
It is a violation under this section or 9-2-11. No teammate of thrower shall be out of bounds after a spot throw in begins.


I think it'll be alright as long as you didn't verbalize which rule you were enforcing when you whistled the violation. ;)

t2baldwin Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:34am

Yep. I reviewed rule 9 again after my post and seen 9-2-11. Thanks for the feedback. Interesting note about the play was that as the team with the throw in came out of the timeout, the coach called me over to tell me what they were going to do. I told him it's a violation (I didn't quote rule number). He was out of timeouts and tried to tell his player not to do it. They didn't hear him, they did it, I whistled it. There were 2.7 seconds on the clock, opposing team gets the throw in down 1, scores on the throw in and wins the game. Those darn rules can spoil a good plan.

Thanks again folks.

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by t2baldwin (Post 973918)
Yep. I reviewed rule 9 again after my post and seen 9-2-11. Thanks for the feedback.

:eek:

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by t2baldwin (Post 973918)
Yep. I reviewed rule 9 again after my post and seen 9-2-11. Thanks for the feedback. Interesting note about the play was that as the team with the throw in came out of the timeout, the coach called me over to tell me what they were going to do. I told him it's a violation (I didn't quote rule number). He was out of timeouts and tried to tell his player not to do it. They didn't hear him, they did it, I whistled it. There were 2.7 seconds on the clock, opposing team gets the throw in down 1, scores on the throw in and wins the game. Those darn rules can spoil a good plan.

Thanks again folks.

He had to be thinking he could run the end line, which would then make this play legal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1