The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Should This Free Throw Count? (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100548-should-free-throw-count-video.html)

xyrph Wed Dec 23, 2015 04:27pm

Should This Free Throw Count? (Video)
 
In high school varsity basketball, should this free throw count?

Either way, can you please cite the rule? Thank you.



<iframe width="800" height="450" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/4U45wcRmqEE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

just another ref Wed Dec 23, 2015 04:32pm

Why wouldn't it?

OKREF Wed Dec 23, 2015 04:33pm

Yes. The ball didn't go over the backboard or hit a support or wire.

Rule 7-2

BlueDevilRef Wed Dec 23, 2015 04:43pm

I concur. Didn't go over. Shot giod


I wish I had a cool signature

xyrph Wed Dec 23, 2015 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 973847)
Why wouldn't it?

It was not counted. A ref blew the whistle after the ball bounced to the top of the backboard and no point was recorded.

bainsey Wed Dec 23, 2015 05:01pm

NFHS 7-1-2a&b: The ball is out of bounds when it touches or is touched by... the supports or back of the backboard....(or)...when it passes over a rectangular backboard.

Dad Wed Dec 23, 2015 06:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xyrph (Post 973850)
It was not counted. A ref blew the whistle after the ball bounced to the top of the backboard and no point was recorded.

Maybe the official thought it hit the middle support wire?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 23, 2015 06:37pm

The shot counts in HS and NCAA.

The ref bought into the same myth as 90% of the fans and 45% of the coaches.

SNIPERBBB Wed Dec 23, 2015 08:21pm

Had to educate a coach on the rule the other night. Think he was the only one in the gym that didn't know...or at least the only one the vocalize his belief.

BillyMac Wed Dec 23, 2015 09:00pm

He Should Have Read My List ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 973862)
The ref bought into the same myth as 90% of the fans and 45% of the coaches.

The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot legally pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds, as well as the supporting structures.

Danvrapp Wed Dec 23, 2015 09:41pm

Looks to me like it was blown b/c she stepped over the line long before the ball entered the hoop. It was still bouncin' around on top of the board when she steps over.

OKREF Wed Dec 23, 2015 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Danvrapp (Post 973871)
Looks to me like it was blown b/c she stepped over the line long before the ball entered the hoop. It was still bouncin' around on top of the board when she steps over.

:eek: You realize what you just said is not even remotely true? As soon as the ball hits the rim the shooter can cross the line.

ODog Wed Dec 23, 2015 11:39pm

Doesn't it seem like the whistle came from an unseen Trail?

Neither the L or C (if there is, in fact, a T in this game) has any reaction that would indicate they blew the whistle or plan to wave this off.

T here would have the worst possible angle, is obviously very far away to be out of the frame and might be straightlined into thinking it hit a support.

Not good enough to wave it off, but just a possible explanation.

To me, looks like C was on top of it and had nothing.

mutantducky Thu Dec 24, 2015 01:07am

maybe he thought it hit something in the back, the ball did kind of go back then forward. But it appears to be the wrong call.

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 01:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 973883)
Doesn't it seem like the whistle came from an unseen Trail?

Neither the L or C (if there is, in fact, a T in this game) has any reaction that would indicate they blew the whistle or plan to wave this off.

T here would have the worst possible angle, is obviously very far away to be out of the frame and might be straightlined into thinking it hit a support.

Not good enough to wave it off, but just a possible explanation.

To me, looks like C was on top of it and had nothing.

This belongs to the T. Seems that he was way to deep, but I do believe it's the T's and not the C's.

BktBallRef Thu Dec 24, 2015 01:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 973888)
This belongs to the T. Seems that he was way to deep, but I do believe it's the T's and not the C's.

Agreed. Not sure why anyone would think the T has the worst view, especially considering there's an L on the floor.

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 02:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 973890)
Agreed. Not sure why anyone would think the T has the worst view, especially considering there's an L on the floor.

Because look at the middle wire on the rim. Pretty hard to tell if it just barely touches it. As the C, nearly same view as us, has a clear view of whether the ball hit anything it shouldn't have.

T may very well have gone, well maybe it hit something, WHISTLE. Then regretted blowing air.

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 03:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 973893)
Because look at the middle wire on the rim. Pretty hard to tell if it just barely touches it. As the C, nearly same view as us, has a clear view of whether the ball hit anything it shouldn't have.

T may very well have gone, well maybe it hit something, WHISTLE. Then regretted blowing air.

It still belongs to the trail, not the C. Now we can have a discussion about the positioning of the T, but the C has other things to watch, shooter, defense crossing the free throw line, other lane violations, rebounding action. This belongs to the trail.

Danvrapp Thu Dec 24, 2015 08:36am

Yes - I'm well aware the shooter can step over the line once the ball contacts the rim.

Since everyone seems to be thinking that it was whistled (falsely) because it hit the top of the backboard, what I was wondering is if the play was whistled instead (falsely) because she stepped over the line. If we're talking about an official that doesn't know the ball can't hit the top of the backboard, why aren't we considering that the official doesn't know she can't now step over the line?

If you watch the video, she steps over the line and almost immediately the whistle gets blown. Unfortunately, that is approximately the time that the ball contacts the top of the backboard.

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 973898)
It still belongs to the trail, not the C. Now we can have a discussion about the positioning of the T, but the C has other things to watch, shooter, defense crossing the free throw line, other lane violations, rebounding action. This belongs to the trail.

No we don't and you completely missed the point.

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Danvrapp (Post 973901)
Yes - I'm well aware the shooter can step over the line once the ball contacts the rim.

Since everyone seems to be thinking that it was whistled (falsely) because it hit the top of the backboard, what I was wondering is if the play was whistled instead (falsely) because she stepped over the line. If we're talking about an official that doesn't know the ball can't hit the top of the backboard, why aren't we considering that the official doesn't know she can't now step over the line?

If you watch the video, she steps over the line and almost immediately the whistle gets blown. Unfortunately, that is approximately the time that the ball contacts the top of the backboard.

Legit point. OP said the whistle was blown after it hit the top, but not what the official said/did after it happened. We don't know.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 973874)
:eek: You realize what you just said is not even remotely true? As soon as the ball hits the rim the shooter can cross the line.

You realize that what you said is also wrong? The shooter can cross the line before the ball hits the ring. (Not in this specific play, but in general.)

BlueDevilRef Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 973909)
You realize that what you said is also wrong? The shooter can cross the line before the ball hits the ring. (Not in this specific play, but in general.)


Explain that please bob bc I gotta agree with OK here.


I wish I had a cool signature

referee99 Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:34am

1080p60
 
Why can't all clips be so?

bob jenkins Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 973916)
Explain that please bob bc I gotta agree with OK here.


I wish I had a cool signature

Ring or backboard or FT ends.

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 973923)
Ring or backboard or FT ends.

backboard?

bob jenkins Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 973928)
backboard?

I'm confused by your question.

If it's about the word "backboard" see 1-7.

If it's about whether a backboard is included in the rule on when a player not on the lane can enter, see 10-1-3 (a couple of subsections in there).

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Danvrapp (Post 973871)
Looks to me like it was blown b/c she stepped over the line long before the ball entered the hoop. It was still bouncin' around on top of the board when she steps over.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 973909)
You realize that what you said is also wrong? The shooter can cross the line before the ball hits the ring. (Not in this specific play, but in general.)

Bob, he's implying that the shooter must wait until the ball goes in the basket before the shooter can enter. In this case the ball clearly hits the ring, so there would be no violation. Yes a shooter may enter when the ball hits the backboard, or the free throw ends, I never said they couldn't. I was only speaking to this particular case.

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 973933)
I'm confused by your question.

If it's about the word "backboard" see 1-7.

If it's about whether a backboard is included in the rule on when a player not on the lane can enter, see 10-1-3 (a couple of subsections in there).

No one banks FTs anymore.

And I think you mean 9-1-3

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 973944)
No one banks FTs anymore.

And I think you mean 9-1-3

NFHS deleted the words "or backboard" from 9-1-3a. Was in 2015-16 corrections.

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 973948)
NFHS deleted the words "or backboard" from 9-1-3a. Was in 2015-16 corrections.

They added it in this year and then corrected it out?

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 973950)
They added it in this year and then corrected it out?

Yes--link

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 973952)

Looks like they want it deleted from E and F also.

ODog Thu Dec 24, 2015 05:28pm

Getting back on track, if you were the C in this situation, and the T did in fact whistle no shot because he felt it hit the supports, would you come to him with information, just as you would on an out-of-bounds play?

bob jenkins Thu Dec 24, 2015 05:42pm

If T had it hitting the supports, I probably let that go. IF T says it's out because it hit the top of the backboard, I probably (try to) correct it.

Dad Thu Dec 24, 2015 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 973993)
Getting back on track, if you were the C in this situation, and the T did in fact whistle no shot because he felt it hit the supports, would you come to him with information, just as you would on an out-of-bounds play?

Not unless he asked.

ODog Fri Dec 25, 2015 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 974004)
Not unless he asked.

Why would he ask? The T thinks he's right. There's nothing to ask.

The C, however, has information that the call is wrong, so all I'm asking is if you would go offer that info, much as you might on an OOB call.

(Yes, Dad, I can see that you would not.)

Anyone else?

Rich Fri Dec 25, 2015 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 974102)
Why would he ask? The T thinks he's right. There's nothing to ask.

The C, however, has information that the call is wrong, so all I'm asking is if you would go offer that info, much as you might on an OOB call.

(Yes, Dad, I can see that you would not.)

Anyone else?

Nope. Not unless I know exactly why he called it that way. He may have seen something I didn't.

AremRed Fri Dec 25, 2015 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 974102)
Why would he ask? The T thinks he's right. There's nothing to ask.

The C, however, has information that the call is wrong, so all I'm asking is if you would go offer that info, much as you might on an OOB call.

(Yes, Dad, I can see that you would not.)

Anyone else?

I agree the Trail will probably not ask for help here. The real question is....if you are the C and you know T got it wrong do you go to him?

Rich Fri Dec 25, 2015 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 974106)
I agree the Trail will probably not ask for help here. The real question is....if you are the C and you know T got it wrong do you go to him?

Not a chance.

AremRed Fri Dec 25, 2015 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 974107)
Not a chance.

I don't either. Trail will have to live with that one. ;)

Rich Fri Dec 25, 2015 03:04pm

Let's take this one step further.

I hit my whistle and go to the trail to tell him he got this one wrong. He says, "It hit the support."

We're screwed as a crew.

SAK Fri Dec 25, 2015 03:05pm

Count the free throw. Top, bottom, and sides of backboard are all in-bounds.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 25, 2015 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 974106)
I agree the Trail will probably not ask for help here. The real question is....if you are the C and you know T got it wrong do you go to him?


How do you know he got it wrong? It matters to whether I'd go in.

Nevadaref Fri Dec 25, 2015 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 974111)
Let's take this one step further.

I hit my whistle and go to the trail to tell him he got this one wrong. He says, "It hit the support."

We're screwed as a crew.

I agree.
I don't see how one official saying that it hit a supporting wire and another saying that it didn't does anything helpful.

The person who blew the whistle has this call all on his own.

JRutledge Fri Dec 25, 2015 04:07pm

This is a judgment call just like any other call we make throughout the game. If you want to debate every one of those, be my guest, but that might be a tedious exercise. Good luck with that.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Dec 25, 2015 05:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974129)
This is a judgment call just like any other call we make throughout the game. If you want to debate every one of those, be my guest, but that might be a tedious exercise. Good luck with that.

Peace

It is only a judgement cal if it is about whether it hit the wire above the basket or not. If the official is ruing that the ball is dead because it hit the top of the backboard, that is a rule error, not a judgement call.

Rich Fri Dec 25, 2015 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 974154)
It is only a judgement cal if it is about whether it hit the wire above the basket or not. If the official is ruing that the ball is dead because it hit the top of the backboard, that is a rule error, not a judgement call.

I don't disagree.

But when I kill one of these, I point, and point and that's it. Not enough for a partner to say I screwed the pooch.

AremRed Fri Dec 25, 2015 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 974122)
How do you know he got it wrong?

Cuz you said so and I hear to "always listen to bob". :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 973862)
The shot counts in HS and NCAA.


JRutledge Fri Dec 25, 2015 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 974154)
It is only a judgement cal if it is about whether it hit the wire above the basket or not. If the official is ruing that the ball is dead because it hit the top of the backboard, that is a rule error, not a judgement call.

But if the official making the call thinks it did, it is like arguing if the pivot foot was moved on a ball handler that would cause a travel. We do not question those calls on a regular basis either. And I see a lot of those calls reversed and traveling calls are rules based as well.

Peace

just another ref Fri Dec 25, 2015 06:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974164)
But if the official making the call thinks it did, it is like arguing if the pivot foot was moved on a ball handler that would cause a travel. We do not question those calls on a regular basis either.


No, but if a travel was called during a throw-in, you might.

JRutledge Fri Dec 25, 2015 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 974167)
No, but if a travel was called during a throw-in, you might.

I wouldn't, because people call a designated spot violation and use the wrong signal.

Peace

just another ref Fri Dec 25, 2015 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974169)
I wouldn't, because people call a designated spot violation and use the wrong signal.

Peace

That's the reason I said might. The point is, if the official makes a call which is impossible, added information from a partner may justified. In the OP, I don't see a wire or any hardware anywhere near where the ball hit, so if one was ever to interject, this might be a likely spot.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 25, 2015 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 974162)
Cuz you said so and I hear to "always listen to bob". :D

Oh -- so it's based on video review.

Then, if both C and T are watching, sure -- you should tell him what you have and why.

If both aren't watching, then it depends on the relationship between the officials.

If it's during the game, not so much.

Dad Sat Dec 26, 2015 01:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 974170)
That's the reason I said might. The point is, if the official makes a call which is impossible, added information from a partner may justified. In the OP, I don't see a wire or any hardware anywhere near where the ball hit, so if one was ever to interject, this might be a likely spot.

Remember to hit play.

just another ref Sat Dec 26, 2015 01:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 974194)
Remember to hit play.


That's so clever it sailed right over my head.

Please explain.

Dad Sat Dec 26, 2015 11:16am

http://i.imgur.com/UDpB57H.png

just another ref Sat Dec 26, 2015 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 974207)

I stand corrected. It is near, but whatever that is appears to be behind the board, so I still don't think it touched.

Rich Sat Dec 26, 2015 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 974213)
I stand corrected. It is near, but whatever that is appears to be behind the board, so I still don't think it touched.

And that's why you do nothing as the C -- you "don't think it touched." Not "there's no way in hell that touched anything."

just another ref Sat Dec 26, 2015 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 974214)
And that's why you do nothing as the C -- you "don't think it touched." Not "there's no way in hell that touched anything."

The problem here is three dimensional stuff in a two dimensional photograph. The ball never even gets on top of the board. If I was there I could see how it was put together, and if it's like I think it is, I'd know if there was "no way in hell."

Rich Sat Dec 26, 2015 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 974222)
The problem here is three dimensional stuff in a two dimensional photograph. The ball never even gets on top of the board. If I was there I could see how it was put together, and if it's like I think it is, I'd know if there was "no way in hell."

And still....it's not a good place to get involved.

"It hit something up top."

"No, it didn't."

Are you going to flip a coin?

just another ref Sat Dec 26, 2015 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 974224)
And still....it's not a good place to get involved.

"It hit something up top."

"No, it didn't."

Are you going to flip a coin?


If there's nothing it possibly could have hit and I have a young partner that seems to be marginal on rules knowledge, I quite possibly would get involved. But, as a normal practice, no, I wouldn't either.

JRutledge Sun Dec 27, 2015 01:56am

Usually when a cord is touched, it shakes. I did not see any shake. But then again the angle needed to be better.

Peace

luvhoops Sun Dec 27, 2015 09:02pm

Isn't anyone gonna mention Mr. Disrespectful walking along the baseline during the FT? LOL, I was hoping he would stumble or something.

PAlbc Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:18am

Took looking at a video of the same school on Youtube to figure this out.

It is definitely an issue of angles looking at the OP video. It's the wire that raises and lowers the backboard. That wire extends in a path from just behind the top middle of the backboard straight over the rim and cylinder. The ball could (not in this case) even hit it bouncing straight up with out ever even getting close to the back board.

I'm guessing that this wire gets hit often that the refs are used to looking for it. This contact didn't seem excessive, but the ball was definitely close enough for it to be considered and called. I'm pretty sure the T wasn't calling the ball bouncing on the top of the backboard, because in this spot it couldn't due to the wire.

so cal lurker Mon Dec 28, 2015 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 973944)
No one banks FTs on purpose anymore.


Fixed it for ya ;)

OK, let's assume the call is made, the calling ref calls out "hit the top of the back board!" His partner thinks "Oh $*&%," and starts the conference. Calling official realizes he had a brain freeze.

But what now? Count the FT even though the whistle blew before it went in? Retake the FT because the ref whistled it dead before the FT was completed? PA?

Dad Mon Dec 28, 2015 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 974403)
Fixed it for ya ;)

OK, let's assume the call is made, the calling ref calls out "hit the top of the back board!" His partner thinks "Oh $*&%," and starts the conference. Calling official realizes he had a brain freeze.

But what now? Count the FT even though the whistle blew before it went in? Retake the FT because the ref whistled it dead before the FT was completed? PA?

I'd never start a conference here, but if I did:

Inadvertent doesn't instantly stop a ball that's in flight for a goal. Count a make. Otherwise AP. That's if the calling official realized his brain freeze caused him/her to make a call they are 100% sure is incorrect and would stake there life on it. ;)

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Dec 28, 2015 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 974403)
Fixed it for ya ;)

OK, let's assume the call is made, the calling ref calls out "hit the top of the back board!" His partner thinks "Oh $*&%," and starts the conference. Calling official realizes he had a brain freeze.

But what now? Count the FT even though the whistle blew before it went in? Retake the FT because the ref whistled it dead before the FT was completed? PA?

The whistle is not what makes the ball dead. In your sitch, once there's a conference and the calling official realizes he brain farted, I'm counting the basket.

HokiePaul Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:34am

ruling on the field stands ... I can't tell for sure from the video whether or not the ball touched the wire support. I thought it did when watching in real time, then thought not in slow motion.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1