The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100537-backcourt-not.html)

Raymond Mon Dec 21, 2015 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 973625)
I'm assuming you're saying both A1 and A2 are in the BC in this scenario, yes?

Yes.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 21, 2015 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 973616)
Unless I've missed it somewhere, I can't find anywhere in the rules where the first free throw is awarded for the 7th, 8th and 9th team fouls. It clearly says to award one throw if the first one is successful, but nothing about actually awarding the first throw.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 973617)
I'm glad I'm not the only one who has never been able to find the actual rule support for that.

I've pointed this out on the forum before. The issue arose when the NFHS made an editorial change to the definition of the bonus FT several years ago.

Welpe Mon Dec 21, 2015 04:00pm

Nice to see they're in a big hurry to fix it.

Adam Mon Dec 21, 2015 04:02pm

I predict that at this point they will concede the OP as a backcourt violation before they fix the rule to match their stated intent with this rule change.

bainsey Tue Dec 22, 2015 02:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 973629)
Yes.

Then I cannot see a violation in the sitch presented:

A1, in the backcourt, passes the ball ahead, and bounces off the T in the frontcourt, where it is touched by A2 in the backcourt.

While the ball had frontcourt status, the rules (9-9-1&2) say that A1 needs to be in the frontcourt (last to touch) for there to be a violation.

just another ref Tue Dec 22, 2015 03:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 973671)
Then I cannot see a violation in the sitch presented:

A1, in the backcourt, passes the ball ahead, and bounces off the T in the frontcourt, where it is touched by A2 in the backcourt.

While the ball had frontcourt status, the rules (9-9-1&2) say that A1 needs to be in the frontcourt (last to touch) for there to be a violation.

You need to read part of it again. 9-9-2: While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch in the backcourt.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 22, 2015 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 973672)
You need to read part of it again. 9-9-2: While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch in the backcourt.

There's also a specific case on this.

And, maybe some interp where it's just a bounce pass from one side of the court to another where the ball hits the division line -- BC violation.

bainsey Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 973672)
You need to read part of it again. 9-9-2: While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch in the backcourt.

Well noted, but it throws a wrench into the whole "last to touch, first to touch" vernacular. While the ball may gain FC status by hitting a T or taking a spinning hop before going to BC, you can debate it never last touched anyone in FC.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 22, 2015 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 973709)
Well noted, but it throws a wrench into the whole "last to touch, first to touch" vernacular. While the ball may gain FC status by hitting a T or taking a spinning hop before going to BC, you can debate it never last touched anyone in FC.

And it never has to "last touch anyone in FC" (or in the BC for that matter).

It needs to "last touch anyone before going to the BC" and "first touch anyone after going to BC."

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 23, 2015 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref1990 (Post 973560)
A1 is at the 28' mark in the frontcourt for a throw in. A2 attempts to catch the throw in and touches the ball while standing in the frontcourt and the ball rolls into the backcourt. A2 goes into the backcourt and is the first to touch the ball.

Is this backcourt?

By rule, it is a violation. But by case play, the Rules Committee has instructed us to ignore the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1