The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Look at the rule that goes with these case plays. 7-5-7. You will see privilege to run retained if violation or COMMON foul. An intentional foul is not a common foul. The team fouled already gets two shots and the ball back. The rules just don't give them the further privilege of running the end line.
Thanks BigCat! I appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfan1981 View Post
Thanks BigCat! I appreciate the help.
Any time. Good luck to you.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 174
Just to put a wrinkle in........here is a similar question which drives me nuts

B1 is attempting a throw-in from the end line after A1's made basket when A2 commits a common foul against B2 before the bonus. The throw-in for Team B may be anywhere along the end line.

True

False



Based on my post above........

7.5.7 Sit C Reads.....

Team B has scored a field goal and A 2 has the ball along the end line for a throw-in. Team A is not in the bonus. Prior to the ball being thrown inbounds by A1: (a) B1 fouls A2 near A1; (b) B1 fouls A2 at the division line

Ruling: In (a) Team A may throw-in from anywhere out of bounds along the end line following the foul reporting. In (b) the ball will be given to Team A for a throw-in from the spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.

.....it depends where the foul occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 174
I'm guessing it's true because of the word MAY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfan1981 View Post
I'm guessing it's true because of the word MAY
You do need to know where the foul occurred and I agree it is true...because of the MAY. Another bad question imo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA test question CecilOne Softball 27 Mon Apr 18, 2016 08:32pm
Old test question Scrapper1 Basketball 1 Sat Oct 29, 2011 02:18am
FED Test Question 68 Wisscott Basketball 2 Thu Nov 09, 2006 07:38am
Test Question cford Basketball 18 Thu Nov 11, 2004 08:00pm
Jim's Test Question #2 SJoldguy Football 12 Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1