The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inadvertant horn (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100447-inadvertant-horn.html)

jTheUmp Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:07pm

Inadvertant horn
 
Opening jump ball to start the game... clock operator mistakenly sounds the horn rather than starting the clock when the ball is touched. Then, realizing her error, she starts the clock.

Whatcha gonna do?

BatteryPowered Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:22pm

Watch the players stand around until they realize an official didn't blow a whistle. After all, they ball handler just might let the ball free so a defender can take control for an easy bucket.

Oh...and make sure the arrow is pointing in the correct direction.

Gutierrez7 Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 971631)
Opening jump ball to start the game... clock operator mistakenly sounds the horn rather than starting the clock when the ball is touched. Then, realizing her error, she starts the clock.

Whatcha gonna do?

Interesting enough, during a state final game the horn erroneously sounded with several seconds remaining in the game. The horn does not stop the game in this situation, only the whistle does. PLAY ON.

If you have "definitive" knowledge of the time, you can always adjust the play clock, but only if you have "definitive" knowledge.

Hope this helps.

crosscountry55 Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gutierrez7 (Post 971641)
Interesting enough, during a state final game the horn erroneously sounded with several seconds remaining in the game. The horn does not stop the game in this situation, only the whistle does. PLAY ON.

If you have "definitive" knowledge of the time, you can always adjust the play clock, but only if you have "definitive" knowledge.

Hope this helps.

Agree.

As to definitive knowledge, I'm assuming the timer realized her error pretty quickly and thus I doubt any official started a count here, so probably no "definitive" knowledge. Even if you did have a count, to make a correction here you'd have to blow it dead, take the time off, and then have a throw-in (or another jump ball if possession hadn't been established yet). I wouldn't go there.

I'm not going to split hairs if the game ends up being 32:02 long.

Dad Fri Dec 04, 2015 01:06pm

Had a weird play last year I'm still thinking about -- obviously.

There was 12.4 seconds left on the clock after a time out. A1 is trying to shake B1. The horn operator is from A's team. Horn goes off with 2 seconds remaining and B1 starts to celebrate. I instantly blew my whistle and then A1 shoots the ball and it goes in. I blew my whistle like a wild idiot and sold it. At the time, I had to think quickly and believed it looked really bad that the horn was operated by team A. It was most likely an accident, but I didn't want to end the game on even a minuscule chance that cheating was involved.

A's coach was angry and wanted more than 2 seconds on the clock when we resumed play.

BigCat Fri Dec 04, 2015 01:09pm

Rules/case play says official should ignore a horn sounded during live ball if scoring play in progress. any other time he/she MAY stop play.

I'd have to be there and see where ball went on tip and how players react to the horn. I might play on or i might kill it. if i thought the horn gave one team an advantage id kill it. could not put time back on clock without definite knowledge.

Rich Fri Dec 04, 2015 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 971631)
Opening jump ball to start the game... clock operator mistakenly sounds the horn rather than starting the clock when the ball is touched. Then, realizing her error, she starts the clock.

Whatcha gonna do?

Depends....what did the players do?

(If it affected the jump...I'd be tempted to put 18 minutes back up and throw it up again.)

frezer11 Fri Dec 04, 2015 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gutierrez7 (Post 971641)
Interesting enough, during a state final game the horn erroneously sounded with several seconds remaining in the game. The horn does not stop the game in this situation, only the whistle does. PLAY ON.

If you have "definitive" knowledge of the time, you can always adjust the play clock, but only if you have "definitive" knowledge.

Hope this helps.

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 971647)
Agree.

As to definitive knowledge, I'm assuming the timer realized her error pretty quickly and thus I doubt any official started a count here, so probably no "definitive" knowledge. Even if you did have a count, to make a correction here you'd have to blow it dead, take the time off, and then have a throw-in (or another jump ball if possession hadn't been established yet). I wouldn't go there.

I'm not going to split hairs if the game ends up being 32:02 long.

I may be in the minority here, but if this happens in one of my games, if even a single player pauses for even a moment, I'm hitting my whistle and stopping play. I don't think it's fair if one team gains an advantage because players from the other team instinctively stop play, even if briefly. After all, if this happens mid quarter or so and the ball carrier picks up their dribble and begins to walk to me to hand me the ball, no way I'm calling them for a travel.

jTheUmp Fri Dec 04, 2015 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 971654)
Depends....what did the players do?

(If it affected the jump...I'd be tempted to put 18 minutes back up and throw it up again.)

It did affect the jump... one of the jumpers basically stopped trying for the ball when the horn went off, and the rest of the players stopped playing.

And I did exactly what you suggest. (I was U1). I've never seen a clock operator so apologetic.

crosscountry55 Fri Dec 04, 2015 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 971663)
I've never seen a clock operator so apologetic.

That means she cared. So she's welcome to work my table every day of the week and twice on Sundays.

It annoys me when you have timers and scorers, albeit who may do a very good job, but whose body language suggests it's the last place in the world they want to be.

jTheUmp Fri Dec 04, 2015 02:39pm

Agreed.

And it could be worse... she could've sounded the horn while a visiting team player was in the midst of her free throw shooting motion (which did actually happen to me awhile back... I think there's a thread about it somewhere).

BillyMac Fri Dec 04, 2015 05:04pm

Let's Go To The videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 971652)
Rules/case play says official should ignore a horn sounded during live ball if scoring play in progress.

2.11.3 SITUATION: When may the scorer signal? RULING: If the scorer desires
to call attention to a player who is illegally in the game, he/she may signal the official
when the ball is in control of that player’s team. If it is for a substitution, the
scorer may signal when the ball next becomes dead and the clock is stopped. If
it is for conferring with an official, he/she may signal when the ball is dead. If the
scorer signals while the ball is live, the official should ignore the signal if a
scoring play is in progress. Otherwise, the official may stop play to determine the
reason for the scorer’s signal.

Always listen to ... Hey? What happened to bob? Nice job BigCat.

AremRed Fri Dec 04, 2015 06:50pm

I'm likely to blow it dead and redo.

Raymond Fri Dec 04, 2015 09:23pm

I want the game to start correctly. If I'm the R or the U1 I'm blowing the play dead and starting over.

DRJ1960 Fri Dec 04, 2015 09:28pm

Happened to me tonight.... THEN, on the "re-jump" (yes, I killed it and we started over), my partner calls a violation because a jumper tapped the ball twice (showed him the book at half time) ... it was a long night.

Raymond Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 971708)
Happened to me tonight.... THEN, on the "re-jump" (yes, I killed it and we started over), my partner calls a violation because a jumper tapped the ball twice (showed him the book at half time) ... it was a long night.

So you were out near my way this evening?

DRJ1960 Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:33pm

No... Prince George HS ...tournament

New Kent and Smithfield next week....

Raymond Sat Dec 05, 2015 12:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 971712)
No... Prince George HS ...tournament

New Kent and Smithfield next week....

Oh, so no long trip this weekend. Did you guys keep Prince George?

BillyMac Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:23am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 971708)
... my partner calls a violation because a jumper tapped the ball twice (showed him the book at half time) ...

6-3-7-D: Neither jumper shall:
d. Touch the ball more than twice.

BillyMac Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:27am

Well, You'd Better Let Him Out !!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 971715)
Did you guys keep Prince George?

Do you have Prince Albert in a can?

BillyMac Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:52am

Odd Jump Ball Plays ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 971708)
... my partner calls a violation because a jumper tapped the ball twice (showed him the book at half time).

Hijack alert: Regarding odd jump ball plays, a reminder to some of our new officials. If, instead of being tapped (actually) three times, in which case the clock should have been started on the first tap, which was legal; one of the jumpers caught the ball before it was tapped, or touched the tossed ball before it reached its highest point, and the clock operator incorrectly started the clock, the clock should be reset to 8:00 to start the game.

5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

6-3-7: Neither jumper shall:
a. Touch the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point.
c. Catch the jump ball.

Touching the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point, or catching the jump ball, are both illegal touches.

Dad Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 971724)
Hijack alert: Regarding odd jump ball plays, a reminder to some of our new officials. If, instead of being tapped (actually) three times, in which case the clock should have been started on the first tap, which was legal; one of the jumpers caught the ball before it was tapped, or touched the tossed ball before it reached its highest point, and the clock operator incorrectly started the clock, the clock should be reset to 8:00 to start the game.

5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

6-3-7: Neither jumper shall:
a. Touch the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point.
c. Catch the jump ball.

Touching the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point, or catching the jump ball, are both illegal touches.

And when does a jump ball end? ;)

BillyMac Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:07am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 971727)
And when does a jump ball end?

4-28-3: The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the referee’s hand(s) and
ends when the touched ball contacts a nonjumper, the floor, a basket or
backboard.

Dad Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 971731)
4-28-3: The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the referee’s hand(s) and
ends when the touched ball contacts a nonjumper, the floor, a basket or
backboard.

I've seen this happen twice and was called a violation both times :(

Gutierrez7 Sat Dec 05, 2015 02:47pm

Whatcha gonna do?[/QUOTE]

I always enjoy reading all the discussions and having a venue to share experiences. Be careful on expressing or conducting an action based on "opinion" that is not backed by rule. The coach may then ask you, "based on your opinion mr./ms. official are we playing with 10ft rims or 8ft. You know my players can't dunk and the other team can and I don't think thats fair".

Raymond Sat Dec 05, 2015 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gutierrez7 (Post 971743)
Whatcha gonna do?

I always enjoy reading all the discussions and having a venue to share experiences. Be careful on expressing or conducting an action based on "opinion" that is not backed by rule. The coach may then ask you, "based on your opinion mr./ms. official are we playing with 10ft rims or 8ft. You know my players can't dunk and the other team can and I don't think thats fair".[/QUOTE]

I'm lost on this post.

ODog Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 971733)
I've seen this happen twice and was called a violation both times :(

Who was it called on?!

Dad Sun Dec 06, 2015 02:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 971764)
Who was it called on?!

Jumper who caught the ball after it hit the floor.

so cal lurker Mon Dec 07, 2015 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 971724)

6-3-7: Neither jumper shall:
a. Touch the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point.

Does this actually get called? I know when I played I did this all the time when I knew I was jumping against someone who could out jump be -- and only got called once. Clearly (from the comfort of my seat in the stands) happened in a boys varsity tournament championship game I was watching, and no call and no complaining. (Does seem less important now that there is only one JB per game.)

Dad Mon Dec 07, 2015 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 971981)
Does this actually get called? I know when I played I did this all the time when I knew I was jumping against someone who could out jump be -- and only got called once. Clearly (from the comfort of my seat in the stands) happened in a boys varsity tournament championship game I was watching, and no call and no complaining. (Does seem less important now that there is only one JB per game.)

I'm trying to remember the last time I saw it called -- I can't.

grunewar Mon Dec 07, 2015 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 971983)
I'm trying to remember the last time I saw it called -- I can't.

I see it once a yr or so.

If the toss is way off to one side or stolen on the way up. Kill it.

I was taught - "Be alive at the tap! Don't sleep walk into a game and get off to a bad start!" Start the game right!

crosscountry55 Thu Dec 10, 2015 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 971981)
Does this actually get called? I know when I played I did this all the time when I knew I was jumping against someone who could out jump be -- and only got called once. Clearly (from the comfort of my seat in the stands) happened in a boys varsity tournament championship game I was watching, and no call and no complaining. (Does seem less important now that there is only one JB per game.)

Called it once when a jumper practically took the ball off my fingertips as I released it. I had a very late whistle because....I needed time to get my whistle in my mouth. The very fact that the R doesn't keep a whistle in during a jump ball (for safety reasons) might be part of the reason this isn't called very often.

Generally speaking, if the ball is anywhere near the apex, I don't care. It's the occasional egregious "theft" that I'm concerned about.

Rich Thu Dec 10, 2015 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 972371)
Called it once when a jumper practically took the ball off my fingertips as I released it. I had a very late whistle because....I needed time to get my whistle in my mouth. The very fact that the R doesn't keep a whistle in during a jump ball (for safety reasons) might be part of the reason this isn't called very often.

Generally speaking, if the ball is anywhere near the apex, I don't care. It's the occasional egregious "theft" that I'm concerned about.

Do you work by yourself?

bob jenkins Thu Dec 10, 2015 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 972371)
The very fact that the R doesn't keep a whistle in during a jump ball (for safety reasons) might be part of the reason this isn't called very often.

If that is part of the reason, it speaks volumes about your U1s

frezer11 Thu Dec 10, 2015 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 972371)
Called it once when a jumper practically took the ball off my fingertips as I released it. I had a very late whistle because....I needed time to get my whistle in my mouth. The very fact that the R doesn't keep a whistle in during a jump ball (for safety reasons) might be part of the reason this isn't called very often.

Generally speaking, if the ball is anywhere near the apex, I don't care. It's the occasional egregious "theft" that I'm concerned about.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 972387)
If that is part of the reason, it speaks volumes about your U1s

Bob nailed it, I don't think the R should call this pretty much ever. Being directly below the ball does not give you the best angle here, actually gives you the worst.

crosscountry55 Thu Dec 10, 2015 09:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 972372)
Do you work by yourself?


LOL! Nope, it was a two person game and the U was focused on the non-jumpers.

But your point is fair.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1