The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: MD
Posts: 50
Non-Correctable Error

In my game today, neither my partner nor I noticed that the wrong team was awarded a designated spot throw-in. They inbounded and dribbled all the way up the court until I noticed. I know this does not fall into one of the five correctable error categories. Can this type of play still be called back when the error is realized? How late is too late?

I realize that the best answer is "don't let it happen in the first place", but what is the correct way to handle this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 01:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Iron City, TN
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to reffish
It can be corrected up until the throw in has ended. After that, bummer.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
And here's the case play for you...

Quote:
7.6.6 SITUATION:

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal.

RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 509
until the throw in has ended.When does the throw in end? 4-42-5. I wish I knew that definition 6 year years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 View Post
until the throw in has ended.When does the throw in end? 4-42-5. I wish I knew that definition 6 year years ago.
Well...it's location in the rule book has been fairly constant for the past six years. Maybe even longer
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 127
And the possession arrow stays pointed toward the team that you incorrectly gave the ball to - so they get the next throw-in also.
Until the next throw-in has ended, this coach may need a hug.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 03:09pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refhoop View Post
And the possession arrow stays pointed toward the team that you incorrectly gave the ball to - so they get the next throw-in also.
Until the next throw-in has ended, this coach may need a hug.
Wrong.

The rules don't allow you to screw up a game THAT badly.

Last edited by Dad; Sun Nov 29, 2015 at 03:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 127
4.3.1?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 03:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
Is This Relevant ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Refhoop View Post
And the possession arrow stays pointed toward the team that you incorrectly gave the ball to - so they get the next throw-in also.
6.4.1 SITUATION D: It is Team B’s turn for the next throw-in under the alternating-
possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A
(a) commits a throw-in violation, or (b) releases the ball on the alternating-possession
throw-in, but before the ball is legally touched inbounds, Team A or Team
B commits a foul. RULING: Once the throw-in ends – it is too late to change anything.
In (a), the throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for
Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession. In (b), the alternating-
possession throw-in did not end when the foul occurred. Therefore, the
alternating-possession mistake is corrected and the arrow now favors Team B; penalize the foul appropriately. (4-42-5; ; 6-4-4; 6-4-5)


So the team that mistakenly got the throwin on an alternating possession throwin will not get the next arrow?

Am I on the right track?

More simply:

6.4.1 SITUATION: It is Team B’s turn for the next throw-in under the alternating possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throwin. Team A completes the throwin pass and scores. During the dead ball after the made field goal, Coach B questions the officials about the mistaken throwin, and the direction of the next arrow. Who should get that next possession arrow?

I say Team B.

Do I win a cigar?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 29, 2015 at 03:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 03:57pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
You would say B and be correct.

Tables can spazz out and turn the arrow and still have no idea what's going on. At least one official on the floor should always have some method of keeping track. Whiffing an AP arrow happens, twice in a row is just poor officiating.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 04:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
Another One Of Those When In Rome ... Issues ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
At least one official on the floor should always have some method of keeping track.
Our local board requires all officials to keep a spare whistle in their pocket and switch pockets at every alternating possession change, as well as at halftime. My spare is an old fashioned Acme Thunderer (with a pea).

I fully realize that is totally frowned upon by almost all other Forum members, but it works well for us, especially at Catholic middle school games where an arrow is not required at the table.

Then, of course, we can always use, "Sorry Coach, we'll make sure that you get the next two out of three alternating possession arrows". This only works under several conditions: You're a veteran official, you have a good relationship with the coach, the score isn't close, and the coach has a great sense of humor. Under any other circumstances, the best we can do is to just say, "Sorry Coach".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,899
There used to be a comment in one of the case plays stating that if the officials mistakenly award an AP throw-in to the wrong team and cannot fix it because it becomes too late, then the officials should ensure that they give the other team the next AP throw-in and that a team should not knowingly be given two AP throw-ins in a row.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 04:50pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Our local board requires all officials to keep a spare whistle in their pocket and switch pockets at every alternating possession change, as well as at halftime. My spare is an old fashioned Acme Thunderer (with a pea).

I fully realize that is totally frowned upon by almost all other Forum members, but it works well for us, especially at Catholic middle school games where an arrow is not required at the table.

Then, of course, we can always use, "Sorry Coach, we'll make sure that you get the next two out of three alternating possession arrows". This only works under several conditions: You're a veteran official, you have a good relationship with the coach, the score isn't close, and the coach has a great sense of humor. Under any other circumstances, the best we can do is to just say, "Sorry Coach".
Why?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 04:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
We All Depend On Nevadaref ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There used to be a comment in one of the case plays stating that if the officials mistakenly award an AP throw-in to the wrong team and cannot fix it because it becomes too late, then the officials should ensure that they give the other team the next AP throw-in and that a team should not knowingly be given two AP throw-ins in a row.
Hey. Aren't you the "King of the Archived Case Plays"?

Get to work. Citation please.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2015, 04:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
From Esteemed Forum Members ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Why?
Unprofessional. Not in mechanics manual. Not necessary. Remember it. Rely on the table.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
non correctable error

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shot clock error- correctable error? mutantducky Basketball 11 Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:35am
Correctable error? slow whistle Basketball 15 Fri Dec 19, 2008 04:43pm
Correctable error or not? 181174 Basketball 5 Fri Jan 13, 2006 09:56am
Correctable error mplagrow Basketball 9 Sun Jan 08, 2006 08:52am
Correctable Error? Viking32 Basketball 3 Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1