![]() |
To shoot or not?
During a recent scrimmage a discussion came about a specific case play. Here it is:
A1 is driving the lane towards his basket. He has gathered the ball in what appears to be a motion to shoot a layup. B1 pushes A1 which causes the replanting of the pivot foot (travel) before the ball is released for a try. The shot goes in. You see the contact and realize the try was successful. What do we have? Rules reference? |
2 shot foul, wave off the basket.
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk |
Sounds to me like the referee considered the act of shooting to have begun, so it's a shooting foul. But I would imagine the travel precludes the shot counting, so we have 2 FTs.
|
That's exactly where I landed on it however when I said everyone listening looked at me like I had three heads.
The act of shooting is not eliminated if a violation occurs following the whistle for a foul but before the shot is made. I wasn't able to find any support for it in the books however. I've had it happen a few times and it's strange when it does happen but I don't normally get any push back when I explain it. |
Shot 2
I had the exact play last year in a BV game. Took three tries and 2 different officials to explain to the coachs. ( good teaching moment for our association on how to communicate more clearly) If you believe the player is in the act of shooting when fouled, you have to shoot, but no player can score if he commutes a violation.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Saw traveling called at least 5 times in the Duke-Georgetown game. They've been listening to me?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
My spin move is illegal as they come and has been my whole playing career. However I don't think it was ever not allowed in any game. |
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27am. |