The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   backcourt question from Rulebox (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100390-backcourt-question-rulebox.html)

joelpoli Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:35am

backcourt question from Rulebox
 
A–1, who has the ball in the frontcourt passes the ball toward A–2. B–2 bats the ball to the floor in A’s frontcourt so it bounces toward the backcourt. A–1 runs into A’s backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor.

The official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

bballref3966 Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:47am

By rule (no) or by NFHS interpretation (yes)? ;)

2007-08 interps
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

The bolded portion is what causes issues because the rule book doesn't state that "causing the ball to have backcourt status" is a violation.

Raymond Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:31pm

coachesNrefs, where are you?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dave9819 (Post 970517)
yes - the ball does not gain backcourt status until it touches the backcourt or a player with backcourt status touches it. Since the ball gained backcourt status as a result of a1 catching the ball in the backcourt, it is a backcourt violation.

Had the ball touched the floor in backcourt and then is caught by a1, it would not be a backcourt status since b was the last to touch the ball prior to the ball gaining backcourt status.

no

Dave9819 Mon Nov 23, 2015 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 970531)
no

Why?

just another ref Mon Nov 23, 2015 01:11pm

To have a violation, A has to be last to touch in frontcourt and first to touch in backcourt.

Dave9819 Mon Nov 23, 2015 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 970537)
To have a violation, A has to be last to touch in frontcourt and first to touch in backcourt.

Ah, that's right! My mistake.

wyo96 Mon Nov 23, 2015 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 970518)
By rule (no) or by NFHS interpretation (yes)? ;)

2007-08 interps
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

The bolded portion is what causes issues because the rule book doesn't state that "causing the ball to have backcourt status" is a violation.

Does anyone have anything that contradicts this Interp? If not, the OP is a violation.

joelpoli Mon Nov 23, 2015 01:26pm

doesn't A1 touching the ball that still has frontcourt status make A1 the "first to touch and the last to touch"?

Raymond Mon Nov 23, 2015 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 970537)
To have a violation, A has to be last to touch in frontcourt and first to touch in backcourt.

Team A just has to be the last to touch when the ball had FC status, Team A's players do not have to touch the ball in the FC.

1) A1, in BC, throws pass that hits official standing in FC, ball bounces into BC, A2 retrieves ball...Violation

2) A1, in BC, throws pass that has backspin on it, it bounces in FC, and A2 standing in BC catches ball...violation.

just another ref Mon Nov 23, 2015 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by joelpoli (Post 970540)
doesn't A1 touching the ball that still has frontcourt status make A1 the "first to touch and the last to touch"?

A player can only have one status or the other. When the ball touches the player it instantly gains the status of that player.

just another ref Mon Nov 23, 2015 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 970550)
Team A just has to be the last to touch when the ball had FC status, Team A's players do not have to touch the ball in the FC.

Yeah, what he said.

Camron Rust Mon Nov 23, 2015 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by joelpoli (Post 970540)
doesn't A1 touching the ball that still has frontcourt status make A1 the "first to touch and the last to touch"?

No, but even if it did the rule says this....

* last to touch BEFORE the ball returns the the backcourt
* first to touch AFTER the ball returns to the backcourt

There is a time at which the ball returns to the backcourt....the instant it touches the floor or player in the backcourt.

So, if the ball, having been deflected by team B, next touches A1 who is in the backcourt, who was the last person to touch it before that point? Team B. No violation.

so cal lurker Mon Nov 23, 2015 06:03pm

So, a practical question from a non-re with a kid who plays. In the scenario here, is the end result that some officials are going to call it a BC violation because of the interp and others are going to no-call it because the interp makes not a lick of sense?

Camron Rust Tue Nov 24, 2015 01:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 970563)
So, a practical question from a non-re with a kid who plays. In the scenario here, is the end result that some officials are going to call it a BC violation because of the interp and others are going to no-call it because the interp makes not a lick of sense?

Yep.

deecee Tue Nov 24, 2015 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 970591)
Yep.

Why? If there is an interpretation, whether it makes sense or not, covers the play in black or white why should there be variance?

just another ref Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 970602)
Why? If there is an interpretation, whether it makes sense or not, covers the play in black or white why should there be variance?

The interpretation itself is the variance. It varies 180 degrees from the rule. You have to choose to follow one or the other. Most of us choose the rule.

deecee Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 970635)
The interpretation itself is the variance. It varies 180 degrees from the rule. You have to choose to follow one or the other. Most of us choose the rule.

I understand that. But it's very clear cut with a very clear application. It may be opposite what the rule says, however it covers 1 specific application of the rule. I don't see what the fuss it. It doesn't have to make sense but it's very clear cut.

Valley Man Tue Nov 24, 2015 01:51pm

Last year we got the directions to give a tipped ball signal when this situation occurs. So according to the divide here, one must wait until the ball hits the floor in the backcourt? I don't recall seeing that stipulation:eek:

Camron Rust Tue Nov 24, 2015 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 970640)
I understand that. But it's very clear cut with a very clear application. It may be opposite what the rule says, however it covers 1 specific application of the rule. I don't see what the fuss it. It doesn't have to make sense but it's very clear cut.

It is
  • a contradiction with the rule
  • fundamentally wrong
  • inconsistent with the way it has been called for decades
  • introduces several ridiculous possibilities.

deecee Tue Nov 24, 2015 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 970652)
It is
  • a contradiction with the rule
  • fundamentally wrong
  • inconsistent with the way it has been called for decades
  • introduces several ridiculous possibilities.

Don't disagree with any of this but its a clear cut example with ruling.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 24, 2015 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 970653)
Don't disagree with any of this but its a clear cut example with ruling.

So, how will you call the following play?

A1 dribbling (or holding) in the backcourt near/on/straddling the division line. B1, entirely in the frontcourt, bats the ball such that it bounces off A1's leg.

Adam Tue Nov 24, 2015 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyo96 (Post 970539)
Does anyone have anything that contradicts this Interp? If not, the OP is a violation.

Just the rule itself.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 970652)
It is
  • a contradiction with the rule
  • fundamentally wrong
  • inconsistent with the way it has been called for decades
  • introduces several ridiculous possibilities.

* A nearly 10 year old interp that has not recurred since nor shown up in the case play.

Quote:

Originally Posted by joelpoli (Post 970540)
doesn't A1 touching the ball that still has frontcourt status make A1 the "first to touch and the last to touch"?

There are three separate events that cannot happen simultaneously due to "before" and "after" requirements listed in the rules.

1. Touching the ball before it goes into the BC.
2. The ball gaining BC status.
3. Touching the ball after it gained BC status.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 970657)
So, how will you call the following play?

A1 dribbling (or holding) in the backcourt near/on/straddling the division line. B1, entirely in the frontcourt, bats the ball such that it bounces off A1's leg.

This is the exact play that should demonstrate the fact that the logic behind the 07/08 interp is flawed beyond assistance.

deecee Tue Nov 24, 2015 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 970657)
So, how will you call the following play?

A1 dribbling (or holding) in the backcourt near/on/straddling the division line. B1, entirely in the frontcourt, bats the ball such that it bounces off A1's leg.

Ya this is a 1/10,000 play realistically. In this close of a play if I recognize this then its a BC.

JRutledge Tue Nov 24, 2015 03:30pm

We need to stop paying attention to interpretations that are years old and have clear contradictions to the actual rule. It really is that simple as far as I am concerned.

Peace

deecee Tue Nov 24, 2015 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 970664)
We need to stop paying attention to interpretations that are years old and have clear contradictions to the actual rule. It really is that simple as far as I am concerned.

Peace

You know I agree with this statement. Why would the FED not just can this stupid interp?

Nevadaref Tue Nov 24, 2015 05:08pm

Do you realize that the person who was the NFHS basketball rules editor when the interp was issued is no longer working there and a new person has taken over?
It is likely that the new person isn't even aware of the old interp. If that's the case, then how can this person issue a statement nixing it?

Camron Rust Tue Nov 24, 2015 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 970663)
Ya this is a 1/10,000 play realistically. In this close of a play if I recognize this then its a BC.

It may not be common, but it was created simply to expose the flaw in the rule. There are plenty more.

JRutledge Tue Nov 24, 2015 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 970665)
You know I agree with this statement. Why would the FED not just can this stupid interp?

Who said they didn't? It is this site that holds onto these interpretations. I have never seen anyone ever reference these interpretations unless you have them in a file somewhere on your computer. Otherwise if it is not in the casebook or the current year, the NF is doing a lot of faith recognition to hope we remember what was done 3 or 4 years ago, let alone 5 to 10 years ago.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1