The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Flagrant or not??? (NCAAM Rule) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100356-flagrant-not-ncaam-rule.html)

JRutledge Tue Nov 17, 2015 01:39pm

Flagrant or not??? (NCAAM Rule)
 
I was having a discussion with another official and wanted to see what those here think.

When a head coach gets his second T in a game, is that second T considered a Flagrant 2 Foul?

I will give my opinion later, but I want to see why other officials think.

It matters where you put the ball BTW based on the definition.

Peace

dahoopref Tue Nov 17, 2015 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 969959)
I was having a discussion with another official and wanted to see what those here think.

When a head coach gets his second T in a game, is that second T considered a Flagrant 2 Foul?

I will give my opinion later, but I want to see why other officials think.

It matters where you put the ball BTW based on the definition.

Peace

What type of T's were issued for the first and second?

Class A or Class B?

BigCat Tue Nov 17, 2015 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 969959)
I was having a discussion with another official and wanted to see what those here think.

When a head coach gets his second T in a game, is that second T considered a Flagrant 2 Foul?

I will give my opinion later, but I want to see why other officials think.

It matters where you put the ball BTW based on the definition.

Peace

Flagrant 2 technical involves "vulgar, abusive, extreme…sometimes persistent conduct..." rules say. You can use your discretion to call a second one an F2 but if you are asking does the second class A T become an F2 simply because coach already had one?-- the answer is no. Rules say coach gets two class A (AA), ABB one F2 etc. no where does it say in rules that two A=f2. definition of F2 tech does not say that...

Raymond Tue Nov 17, 2015 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 969959)
I was having a discussion with another official and wanted to see what those here think.

When a head coach gets his second T in a game, is that second T considered a Flagrant 2 Foul?

I will give my opinion later, but I want to see why other officials think.

It matters where you put the ball BTW based on the definition.

Peace

Nope...never even considered that it could be such.

JRutledge Tue Nov 17, 2015 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 969963)
What type of T's were issued for the first and second?

Class A or Class B?

For the purposes of this question, it does not matter. I am not even sure there is such thing as a Class B Flagrant 2 Foul.

Peace

deecee Tue Nov 17, 2015 02:27pm

The second T could be flagrant but it doesn't HAVE to be. If the justification is that since the coach *MAY* be ejected is ludicrous. The coach can have up to 3 T's before ejection. Unless I'm missing something the answer is depends of if he/she earned one (like calling me a, "@#$@#$ piece of @#$@#$ @#$@#$").

JRutledge Tue Nov 17, 2015 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 969967)
The second T could be flagrant but it doesn't HAVE to be. If the justification is that since the coach *MAY* be ejected is ludicrous. The coach can have up to 3 T's before ejection. Unless I'm missing something the answer is depends of if he/she earned one (like calling me a, "@#$@#$ piece of @#$@#$ @#$@#$").

I am only talking about a T that would not result on its own as a flagrant 2 act but that it happens to be his second T of the game.

Peace

deecee Tue Nov 17, 2015 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 969968)
I am only talking about a T that would not result on its own as a flagrant 2 act but that it happens to be his second T of the game.

Peace

The answer is no.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1