![]() |
Front court status
http://nfhs.arbitersports.com/front/...8-a38032ff21c1
ART. 6 (4-4-6) During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler TOUCH the court entirely in the frontcourt. I was thinking if both feet are in front court and the ball has broken the division plane and is in control then clearly that would set up front court status. If the ball hasn't touched the front court does this mean they could toss it back to someone in the back court without a violation? |
Depends whether or not the dribble ends before the toss. To me, "toss" implies that the dribble has ended, but I'd need to see it. If the "toss" is simply incidental to the dribble, then this is probably not a violation.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
(I think there's an NBA sitch where it might, but I'm no pro...) I reserve the right to be wrong. |
Quote:
The rule means that the ball isn't yet in FC, so continuing to dribble into the BC, or having an interrupted dribble into the BC is not a violation. If the dribble ends (and nothing changes) then the ball is in the FC because the player is in the FC. Usually a dribble ends before there is a "toss" |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am. |