![]() |
intental fouls
A1 is intentionally fouled by B1 during the act of shooting and the try is successful. The official ruled that A1 would receive two free throws and team A would receive the ball out of bounds at the point of interruption. Was the official correct.
|
Quote:
|
See the penalty section at the end of Rule 10.
|
Seek Here and Ye Shall Find
Quote:
|
All intentional fouls are 2 shots and the ball except for one situation. When the intentional foul is a missed 3 point shot, then they get 3 shots. A made 3 point shot is also 2 shots and the ball.
Peace |
..and they get the ball out of bounds "at the spot nearest the foul." The "point of interruption" is not involved.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I wouldn't be surprised if over 50% of test-takers marked it as correct, but as worded it's incorrect. Always look for wording like this. |
Quote:
2. If it's a test, you're right, technically. 3. I was about to say the two are almost always the same, but the reality is they are only the same if the player was fouled prior to releasing the try. |
Quote:
|
Exception ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Not really, but, in this case, it isn't completely wrong. |
Quote:
I was mixing up the fact that a player is only an airborne shooter after they release the ball. |
Quote:
There is not mention of spot of the foul in Rule 4-36, which could easily get confused if we use the terms interchangeably IMO. Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16pm. |