The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Solutions for Unannounced Rule Changes? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100189-solutions-unannounced-rule-changes.html)

Freddy Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:13pm

Solutions for Unannounced Rule Changes?
 
This just in from an unattributable source...if valid, it answers questions we had that we all probably suspected was forthcoming:



Here is an up-date that was just sent to us from IAABO, and they received it from NFHS. These are the corrections to the 2015-16 Rules Book.


PRE-SEASON MEMO

Rules Book Corrections
9.1.3a Delete the word “backboard”

9.1.3 B Penalty 4b If the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3).

Comment
Rule 9-1 does not address the issue of players, other than the free thrower during the free throw, entering the free throw semi-circle. The National interpretation on this issue is that until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring, anyone entering the free throw semi-circle has committed a violation. If a teammate commits the violation the ball is to be ruled dead immediately. If an opponent commits the violation it is a delayed lane violation. The free thrower shall be awarded a substitute free throw if the free throw is not successful.

Case Book Correction
Page 22, Situation 3.5.3 B: Substitute A6 reports to enter the game to replace A1. A5 presently in the game, is wearing beige compression sleeves on his/her arm and leg. A6 is wearing a black headband and wristbands. Ruling: A6 is not allowed to enter the game because the rules require all team players to wear the same allowable color sleeves, headbands and wristbands. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the color restrictions are corrected. (3.5.3)

Enforcement of Free Throw Semi-Circle Illegal Entry & Contact
The free thrower must remain within the free throw semi-circle until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.

The same rule applies to all other players who do not occupy free throw lane line marked spaces.

Players who occupy free throw lane line marked spaces during free throws may enter the free throw lane upon the free thrower releasing the ball.

A player who has entered the free throw lane legally, may not cross the free throw line prior to the ball
contacting the backboard or basket ring. To do so is a violation. Initially, a delayed dead ball signal is to be displayed.

If the free throw is successful the violation shall be ignored.

If a defender who has entered the free throw semi-circle, contacts the free thrower, a common foul is the correct ruling.

If the free throw is unsuccessful, the violation shall be enforced and a substitute free throw is awarded.

If a defender who has entered the free throw semi-circle, contacts the free thrower, a common foul is the correct ruling.

Whether the free throw is successful or unsuccessful, the penalty for the common foul is awarded.

If the free thrower’s team is in a bonus situation, the free thrower is awarded a one-and-one or two free throws.

If the free thrower’s team is not in a bonus situation, his/her team is awarded a throw-in along the end line.

NOTE: Should the substitute free throw be followed by free throws because of another foul, the free throw lane line marked spaces may not be occupied during the substitute free throw.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Oct 09, 2015 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 967790)
This just in from an unattributable source...if valid, it answers questions we had that we all probably suspected was forthcoming:



Here is an up-date that was just sent to us from IAABO, and they received it from NFHS. These are the corrections to the 2015-16 Rules Book.


PRE-SEASON MEMO

Rules Book Corrections
9.1.3a Delete the word “backboard”

9.1.3 B Penalty 4b If the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3).

Comment
Rule 9-1 does not address the issue of players, other than the free thrower during the free throw, entering the free throw semi-circle. The National interpretation on this issue is that until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring, anyone entering the free throw semi-circle has committed a violation. If a teammate commits the violation the ball is to be ruled dead immediately. If an opponent commits the violation it is a delayed lane violation. The free thrower shall be awarded a substitute free throw if the free throw is not successful.

Case Book Correction
Page 22, Situation 3.5.3 B: Substitute A6 reports to enter the game to replace A1. A5 presently in the game, is wearing beige compression sleeves on his/her arm and leg. A6 is wearing a black headband and wristbands. Ruling: A6 is not allowed to enter the game because the rules require all team players to wear the same allowable color sleeves, headbands and wristbands. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the color restrictions are corrected. (3.5.3)

Enforcement of Free Throw Semi-Circle Illegal Entry & Contact
The free thrower must remain within the free throw semi-circle until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.

The same rule applies to all other players who do not occupy free throw lane line marked spaces.

Players who occupy free throw lane line marked spaces during free throws may enter the free throw lane upon the free thrower releasing the ball.

A player who has entered the free throw lane legally, may not cross the free throw line prior to the ball
contacting the backboard or basket ring. To do so is a violation. Initially, a delayed dead ball signal is to be displayed.

If the free throw is successful the violation shall be ignored.

If a defender who has entered the free throw semi-circle, contacts the free thrower, a common foul is the correct ruling.

If the free throw is unsuccessful, the violation shall be enforced and a substitute free throw is awarded.

If a defender who has entered the free throw semi-circle, contacts the free thrower, a common foul is the correct ruling.

Whether the free throw is successful or unsuccessful, the penalty for the common foul is awarded.

If the free thrower’s team is in a bonus situation, the free thrower is awarded a one-and-one or two free throws.

If the free thrower’s team is not in a bonus situation, his/her team is awarded a throw-in along the end line.

NOTE: Should the substitute free throw be followed by free throws because of another foul, the free throw lane line marked spaces may not be occupied during the substitute free throw.


Freddy:

Thanks for the update. I just heard from Peter Webb and he confirmed that the two words or backboard should not have been added, and that the NFHS will be sending out a correction. I have already posted the information in the other thread.

MTD, Sr,

bob jenkins Fri Oct 09, 2015 01:26pm

Now if we could get them to remove the back court issue, and the "any contact between players along the FT lane line is a foul" wording from the POE ...

Rich Sun Oct 11, 2015 09:33am

Just waiting to see if anyone says, "this isn't good enough" to get them to call the violation on the defender boxing out the FT shooter.

"It's not a rule, it's just a national interpretation."

JRutledge Sun Oct 11, 2015 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 967823)
Just waiting to see if anyone says, "this isn't good enough" to get them to call the violation on the defender boxing out the FT shooter.

"It's not a rule, it's just a national interpretation."

Calling a foul for contact and calling an interpretation are not really the same thing.

Peace

Freddy Sun Oct 11, 2015 10:43am

Lane Space Foot beyond the Plane Just Like the FT'er?
 
The recently reported "Correction" of 9-1 says, "A player who has entered the free throw lane legally, may not cross the free throw line prior to the ball contacting the backboard or basket ring". That's fuzzy, it seems. Cross the line with a "foot beyond the vertical plane..." like how the free thrower is limited from the other direction? Would reaching an arm through the plane be legal?
Video review of free throws from last year shows only very few of either, actually. The fouls pop right out at you, but the potential new violations are really quite minimal.
Anybody else find this wording, unofficial as it is at this point, a bit fuzzy?
(I reserve the right to be wrong on this)

Raymond Sun Oct 11, 2015 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 967823)
Just waiting to see if anyone says, "this isn't good enough" to get them to call the violation on the defender boxing out the FT shooter.

"It's not a rule, it's just a national interpretation."

It's been published by the NFHS?

JRutledge Sun Oct 11, 2015 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 967830)
It's been published by the NFHS?

Nope. That is the problem. But I guess we are to read the comments here and figure out through osmosis what the intentions of the NF.

Peace

Freddy Sun Oct 11, 2015 06:06pm

Wait for it . . .
 
I'm confident the Fed itself will come out with an official set of corrections, likely validating the document currently on the table here, just like they did last year to solve the several obvious errors they made in last year's rulebook and casebook. If they don't and one maintains that following and enforcing the rules as written are the only option, that means those two woeful words "or backboard" in 9-1-3a will need to be respected also. And we all know that isn't going to happen. Right?

OKREF Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:20am

I received this email today from our director of officials. The first part concerns the POE regarding the crossing of the free throw line.



From: Theresia Wynns [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Monday, October 12, 2015 8:55 AM
To: Mike Whaley
Subject: RE: Basketball rules questions

Mike,

On the free throw, no one should be in the semi-circle until the free throw is made, missed or ends. This is not written in the rules book which is an oversight. It is a National interpretation. The Points of Emphasis stresses the point that should be made by officials.

Delete “or backboard.”

Theresia D. Wynns
Director of Sports and Officials
National Federation of State High School Associations
PO Box 690 l Indianapolis, IN 46206


NFHS Small Logo color
NFHS

AremRed Mon Oct 12, 2015 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 967893)
On the free throw, no one should be in the semi-circle until the free throw is made, missed or ends.

How literally are we supposed to interpret "no one"? :eek:

BillyMac Mon Oct 12, 2015 04:04pm

By The Book ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 967899)
How literally are we supposed to interpret "no one"?

Straight from the horse's mouth: "No one", not even the shooter.

BillyMac Mon Oct 12, 2015 04:09pm

Thanks OKREF ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 967893)
From: Theresia Wynns
Sent: Monday, October 12, 2015 8:55 AM
Subject: Basketball rules questions

On the free throw, no one should be in the semi-circle until the free throw is made, missed or ends. This is not written in the rules book which is an oversight. It is a National interpretation. The Points of Emphasis stresses the point that should be made by officials.

Delete “or backboard.”

Theresia D. Wynns
Director of Sports and Officials
National Federation of State High School Associations
PO Box 690 l Indianapolis, IN 46206

Now the case is closed. You don't have to go home, but you can't stay here.

Note: Everyone be sure to write down Ms. Wynns phone number, and email address, in case you need to contact her with a rule question during one of your games.

"Hey Coach, I got Ms. Wynns, the National Federation of State High School Associations basketball rules editor, here, on the phone. She wants to talk to you to explain a rule interpretation. No, she won't hold. She's a busy women."

Freddy Mon Oct 12, 2015 05:36pm

Only Forum Members See This, Right?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 967893)
On the free throw, no one should be in the semi-circle until the free throw is made, missed or ends.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 967864)
It would be better if you thought of and spoke . . . from a rules standpoint instead of a layman's perspective.

:eek:

JRutledge Mon Oct 12, 2015 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 967909)

"Hey Coach, I got Ms. Wynns, the National Federation of State High School Associations basketball rules editor, here, on the phone. She wants to talk to you to explain a rule interpretation. No, she won't hold. She's a busy women."

Why don't you take it off then Billy?

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1