The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2015, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Here's Jon's answer (and there are a couple of other plays he uses that illustrate the same thing):

DATE:

11/3/2015

RULE:

9-10, 9-12

QUESTION:

If the throw-in is from the frontcourt, but has not touched the court or a player in the frontcourt, is it a new 10 seconds if: 1) Thrower in A1 throws a bounce pass from the frontcourt, which bounces in the frontcourt, but is first touched by a player in the backcourt; 2) Thrower in A1 throws a bounce pass from the frontcourt, which bounces in the frontcourt and is then deflected by A2 or B2, either of whom is standing in the frontcourt, and then goes into the backcourt 3) Thrower in A1 throws a chest pass which is deflected by B1, who is standing in the frontcourt, and the ball then goes in to the backcourt?

ANSWER:

In all three scenarios you present, if Team A’s pass is deflected out of bounds without touching the playing court or a player/official int he frontcourt and Team’s ensuing throw-in were to be thrown directly into Team A’s backcourt, Team A then has the remaining time in the backcourt count to advance the ball into their frontcourt.

In your three scenarios (A1’s throw-in touches the playing court in the frontcourt before going into the backcourt, A1’s bounce pass in the frontcourt is deflected by A1 or B2 into Team A’s backcourt or A1’s throw-in is deflected in flight by B2 into Team A’s backcourt), Team A will receive a new 10 seconds to advance the ball once it is touched in the backcourt, because in all three examples you provided frontcourt status has been established. Additionally, if A1’s throw-in were deflected by A2 into their backcourt, this is legal and not a backcourt violation s Team A did not have team control int heir frontcourt before the ball was returned to their backcourt (Rule 9-12.4).
Makes sense based on the rules as they're written.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2015, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Makes sense based on the rules as they're written.
Absolutely. (But of course I say that since I argued in favor of this position at a pre-game (scrimmage) discussion with four other officials the other night. Had I taken the other position, I'm *sure* I'd find his reasoning to be flawed. )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt or play on? mdray Basketball 32 Mon Nov 26, 2012 02:33pm
Backcourt Violation Play APG Basketball 66 Sun Jan 22, 2012 09:18pm
Another Backcourt Question, in bounds play! jritchie Basketball 11 Thu Dec 02, 2010 05:03pm
Inbounds play backcourt no call hbioteach Basketball 9 Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1