The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
This scenario was presented by the NCAAW SRE during our meeting Sunday...

*A1 is dribbling in her backcourt
*A1 throws a pass that is deflected by B1
*The ball bounces in the backcourt near the point where the division line intersects with the sideline
*The ball then lands OOB next to a frontcourt boundary (i.e., it counced forward and diagonally). The T official's 10-second count was at 8
*The ensuing throw-in goes directly into the backcourt and a player from Team A is the first to legally touch the ball

How much time will Team A have to advance the ball into the frontcourt?
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?
This would be why there's an "Ask Jon" section on the hub
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 10:22am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?
Since there is no true TC during a throw-in, I say the ball does not have FC status in either scenario.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
This would be why there's an "Ask Jon" section on the hub
sure -- but I thought we might get some discussion here, first (unless it's been posted there and I missed it)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Since there is no true TC during a throw-in, I say the ball does not have FC status in either scenario.
What is "true TC?"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 10:41am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
sure -- but I thought we might get some discussion here, first (unless it's been posted there and I missed it)



What is "true TC?"
As in if A1 is inbounds (regardless of location) and throws a pass that A2 touches in the FC and then Team A retrieves it in the BC, it's a violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
As in if A1 is inbounds (regardless of location) and throws a pass that A2 touches in the FC and then Team A retrieves it in the BC, it's a violation.
Agreed -- but the question is about a 10-second violation, not a BC violation. I think we all agree that the play I posted is NOT a BC violation.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Nov 03, 2015 at 10:57am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 10:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Agreed -- but the question is about a 10-second violation, not a BC violation. I think we all agree that the play I posted is NOT a BC violation.

If you are saying that "because it's not a BC violation, then the 10-second count shouldn't start over" compare it to A1 in the BC passes the ball toward the FC. The ball hits an official and rebounds into the BC where A1 recovers it." That's not a BC violation, but the 10-second count starts over.
If A1 is in the BC and throws a pass that touches the FC and spins back into the BC and A2 retrieves it, we don't have a BC violation?

What element of BC violation are we missing?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Sorry -- yes. You caught me trying to edit my post with the play. I am dealing via email with a different play and I got the two confused as I was typing.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 11:08am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Agreed -- but the question is about a 10-second violation, not a BC violation. I think we all agree that the play I posted is NOT a BC violation.
In my brain, I'm trying to keep the logic similar where possible.

I do not think throwing a bounce pass on a throw-in that hits the FC is intended by rule to give the ball FC status.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In my brain, I'm trying to keep the logic similar where possible.

I do not think throwing a bounce pass on a throw-in that hits the FC is intended by rule to give the ball FC status.
Ball location is in my view independent of team control etc. The ball is located wherever it is at that moment in time. If it hits in the FC it is in the FC..
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2015, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?
The rule says a player and his team can't be in continuous control of a BALL that is in his backcourt for 10 continuous seconds…don't reset if defense knocks it out of bounds.

On your throw in, the moment the BALL hits the FC or touches a player in the FC, IT, the BALL, has FC status. Team A can't be in continuous control of a ball in the BC for 10 seconds because the ball was IN FC. new count..

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Nov 03, 2015 at 11:01am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt or play on? mdray Basketball 32 Mon Nov 26, 2012 02:33pm
Backcourt Violation Play APG Basketball 66 Sun Jan 22, 2012 09:18pm
Another Backcourt Question, in bounds play! jritchie Basketball 11 Thu Dec 02, 2010 05:03pm
Inbounds play backcourt no call hbioteach Basketball 9 Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1