The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 14, 2015, 09:52pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Illegal Screen Study #2

The comments and analyses from those who critiqued the previously posted possible illegal screen were really very insightful and enabling. What the official at C viewed in that video said about it will be posted in that thread shortly.

Here's another one that was, coincidentally, in the same gym involving the same official. The question for this clip, slightly different than the last one, is this: What did which official miss and, more importantly, why?

What Did Which Official Miss, and Why?

__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by APG; Fri Aug 14, 2015 at 10:14pm. Reason: embed is your friend
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2015, 02:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Yes, it is an illegal screen. Unlike the other play where an argument can be made for not calling it since it was away from the play, this one should be called. The screener never got into a position for a legal screen and was no where near giving proper time/distance. It freed up the dribbler, thus the advantage was realized.

The C missed the call because he didn't pick up the screener in time. He was focused off ball too long with the play coming into his lap.

That said, there is no reason the T shouldn't be able to make that call.

Maybe both were expecting the other to make that call.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2015, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
1. Illegal

2. Who missed what? It's in the C's primary and it's his call. Odd that he missed it because he'd just (correctly) no-called a screening situation involving a different defender in Black, then the play moves towards him with B#3 guarding A#25. I would say C tried to accept the play involving the BH/D too soon instead of staying with the competitive match-up in his PCA.

3. T could have made the call but my guess is he saw B#3's right forearm come out and started to think, "Should I call him for and arm-bar?" (IMO, yes). While considering that play the screening situation may have surprised him and he may have thought, "Gee, I hope the C gets that one because I'm not sure."

Oh...not that he was involved in the call but L should have been in rotation while the ball was moving tableside. Right when the arm-bar dilemma takes place there are two players in L's PCA. Both of them are defenders. Meantime, he's still in the "A" position and is showing little sign of moving. Even if he's in close down he may not get to the "C" position fast enough to force C out to T but it might have helped.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2015, 11:37am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
1. Illegal

2. Who missed what? It's in the C's primary and it's his call. Odd that he missed it because he'd just (correctly) no-called a screening situation involving a different defender in Black, then the play moves towards him with B#3 guarding A#25. I would say C tried to accept the play involving the BH/D too soon instead of staying with the competitive match-up in his PCA.

3. T could have made the call but my guess is he saw B#3's right forearm come out and started to think, "Should I call him for and arm-bar?" (IMO, yes). While considering that play the screening situation may have surprised him and he may have thought, "Gee, I hope the C gets that one because I'm not sure."

Oh...not that he was involved in the call but L should have been in rotation while the ball was moving tableside. Right when the arm-bar dilemma takes place there are two players in L's PCA. Both of them are defenders. Meantime, he's still in the "A" position and is showing little sign of moving. Even if he's in close down he may not get to the "C" position fast enough to force C out to T but it might have helped.
The Lead rotating shouldn't force the C to step out. The C was too high in the first place. If he had been where he was supposed to be he would have seen the illegal screen.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2015, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The Lead rotating shouldn't force the C to step out. The C was too high in the first place. If he had been where he was supposed to be he would have seen the illegal screen.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
Eh, not really. FTLE is just the home position. A step or two above or below to see a play properly is okay. IMO he was where he needed to be to see the contact since it took place near the top of the 3-point arc. He just didn't put a whistle on it.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2015, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
I think C is too high the entire time also. However, I dont think it has anything to do with him not calling the foul. Sometimes guys see it and just dont blow the whistle. I think the screen is set a few feet past the lane line extended area. Clearly C area. I dont want T calling it from where he is at. He could have stepped out and over to keep a count and then perhaps gotten it. Ultimately, there's nothing really else happening in C area. He has to make this call.

Refereeing's hard. It happens...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2015, 06:06pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Eh, not really. FTLE is just the home position. A step or two above or below to see a play properly is okay. IMO he was where he needed to be to see the contact since it took place near the top of the 3-point arc. He just didn't put a whistle on it.
He was moving when the contact occurred. There was no reason for the high C on that play. If he had stayed home position he sees the screener coming before the contact.

Stay at home in the C, don't look for reason to move towards the division line.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sat Aug 15, 2015 at 06:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2015, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
1. Illegal

2. Who missed what? It's in the C's primary and it's his call. Odd that he missed it because he'd just (correctly) no-called a screening situation involving a different defender in Black, then the play moves towards him with B#3 guarding A#25. I would say C tried to accept the play involving the BH/D too soon instead of staying with the competitive match-up in his PCA.

3. T could have made the call but my guess is he saw B#3's right forearm come out and started to think, "Should I call him for and arm-bar?" (IMO, yes). While considering that play the screening situation may have surprised him and he may have thought, "Gee, I hope the C gets that one because I'm not sure."

Oh...not that he was involved in the call but L should have been in rotation while the ball was moving tableside. Right when the arm-bar dilemma takes place there are two players in L's PCA. Both of them are defenders. Meantime, he's still in the "A" position and is showing little sign of moving. Even if he's in close down he may not get to the "C" position fast enough to force C out to T but it might have helped.
im as tight as they come on hand check/arm bar/arm in hip but i dont call it here. it was on but off pretty quick....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Screen or Not APG Basketball 43 Tue Jun 19, 2012 05:08pm
Illegal Screen? stiffler3492 Basketball 8 Mon Feb 20, 2012 07:47pm
Illegal screen or not? dave30 Basketball 3 Fri Nov 14, 2008 07:31am
Illegal Screen slickrick Basketball 5 Tue Mar 20, 2001 03:25pm
illegal screen kschau Basketball 18 Tue Oct 31, 2000 09:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1