The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Weird play in CHC-NYM (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/99929-weird-play-chc-nym.html)

AremRed Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:54am

Weird play in CHC-NYM
 
What's your ruling?

http://mediadownloads.mlb.com/mlbam/...8183_1200K.mp4

Rich Thu Jul 02, 2015 01:39am

Called correctly eventually. Announcers sure are entertaining.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Welpe Thu Jul 02, 2015 01:40am

I think most of the discussion revolved around whether or not R2 passed R3. Interesting play.

Rich Thu Jul 02, 2015 01:41am

Shitty end of the stick. Don't pick that up. Call him out for abandonment and move on.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Welpe Thu Jul 02, 2015 02:00am

I didn't say that is what the call should be. I was just speculating on what I thought most of the discussion was about.

john5396 Thu Jul 02, 2015 08:08am

Umpire was wrong to signal out on the first tag.

If he was calling out for passing a preceding runner then he shouldn't have waited for the tag. I agree to not call passing on this, just if he was, he should have called immediately rather than waiting for the fielder's tag.

JJ Thu Jul 02, 2015 07:36pm

Hmmm. I've got a double play here. When R3 went back to 3rd he went by R2 on the 2nd base side, so R2 did, in fact, pass R3, so he's out for passing. Then when R3 kept going off the base and was tagged, HE was out because he was tagged while off the base.
I suspect there will be a bunch more discussion on this one in multiple chat rooms. It would be interesting and insightful to find out what the umpires decided on the field and how they explained it to Madden.

JJ

NR33 Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:50am

Here's the crew chief's explanation.

https://mobile.twitter.com/AdamRubin...52839171198976

bob jenkins Fri Jul 03, 2015 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 964425)
Hmmm. I've got a double play here. When R3 went back to 3rd he went by R2 on the 2nd base side, so R2 did, in fact, pass R3, so he's out for passing. Then when R3 kept going off the base and was tagged, HE was out because he was tagged while off the base.
I suspect there will be a bunch more discussion on this one in multiple chat rooms. It would be interesting and insightful to find out what the umpires decided on the field and how they explained it to Madden.

JJ

R3 is not allowed to go back to second, so R2 can't pass R3 when R2 is on the base. If the play started with R1 and R2 and then R2 went toward second, you'd have passing.

It's either an out for abandonment, or an out for more than 3' from a tag attempt -- either would work here.

JJ Fri Jul 03, 2015 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 964445)
R3 is not allowed to go back to second, so R2 can't pass R3 when R2 is on the base. If the play started with R1 and R2 and then R2 went toward second, you'd have passing.

It's either an out for abandonment, or an out for more than 3' from a tag attempt -- either would work here.

OK, but with mine you get a double play....just sayin'.... :)

JJ


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1