![]() |
Interesting Situation
American Legion game (OBR). Bases loaded, two out, tie score, bottom of the last inning. Pitcher hit the batter, who ran to 1st. R3 trotted home. R2 walked to 3rd. R1 headed right for the celebration at home plate - did not advance to 2nd.
What's your take/ruling? What if the defense appeals the runner not advancing? Fun stuff. JJ |
Start walking briskly for the exit after ensuring R3 touches home, waive off the run if they do appeal. Straightforward. Don't bolt out running but don't hang around.
|
I believe in OBR, an appeal for an abandoned awarded base is not a force, and only if this was at first base or home would this negate the run.
|
Quote:
"5.08(4.09)(b) When the winning run is scored in the last half-inning of a regulation game, or in the last half of an extra inning, as the result of a base on balls, hit batter or any other play with the bases full which forces the runner on third to advance, the umpire shall not declare the game ended until the runner forced to advance from third has touched home base and the batter-runner has touched first base." I think Ihave heard of some locales/age groups where Legion uses FED, in which case Scrounge would be correct. |
ah, interesting...thx, didn't know OBR had a difference on that one.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14pm. |