![]() |
Balk - HBP
Here is one that doesn't happen very often and usually gets messed up. I watched this at an American Legion game a couple of nights ago.
OBR, 1 out, R3 & R1 F1 goes through the stop, BU points & says, "That's a balk!", then resets. F1 continues to pitch but the pitch is in the batter's box and hits B3. The crew of the game messed this up, how do you all resolve this? |
Quote:
As I understand it, the balk is enforced unless all runners, including B/R, advance one base. Since R3 would not advance one base on a HBP, I'd think it would be a dead ball, B/R stays at the plate, R3 scores and R2 to 2B. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Let me guess, the crew gave the coach the option? |
Hmmm...I had this exact play in a Legion game last night...but I don't remember seeing you there. We DID get the correct ruling, so if the crew you saw screwed it up then it wasn't us. For a change.
JJ |
Quote:
The crew met with the offensive coach and agreed to send B3 to 1st on the HBP, R3 scored and R1 advanced to 2nd. The advancements were correct but B3 should have stayed at the plate. |
Oooops. Too much softball for them evidently.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04am. |