![]() |
I really just saw this
I just witnessed a play where F3 fielded a ball while laying on the ground near the base. He had the ball in his throwing hand and tagged the base ahead of the runner with his empty glove. The umpire emphaticalsignaled safe and said, "Safe. He had the ball in his hand when he tagged the base with his glove." The defensive coach did not question the call. Instead he chewed on his F3 for not knowing the rules.
|
They deserve each other.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I had a play like that happen when I played. Our first baseman fielded a ball in his glove, pushed on the base with his bare hand as he was getting up, then stepped on it. Out wasn't called until he stepped on it, and it was still prior to the runner arriving, fortunately.
|
I assume this was confusion over the rule on tagging a runner vs. the rule on tagging a base. Everyone makes mistakes.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17pm. |