![]() |
Is ruling different for NFHS and NCAA-OBR?
20. B9 hits a grounder to F6. F6’s
throw to F3 bounces and ends up trapped against F3’s body by his arm. F3, who is standing on first base, holds the ball securely in that manner while B9 touches first base. After B9 has crossed the bag, F3 pulls the ball out and shows it to the umpire. F3 never juggled or bobbled the ball. a. B9 is out. b. B9 is safe. |
Quote:
|
What about this?
NFHS 2-24-1 ART. 1 . . . A force-out is a putout during which a runner who is being forced to advance is tagged out, or is put out by a fielder who holds the ball while touching the base toward which the forced runner is advancing (9-1-1 for special case.)
F3 is holding the ball, just not in his hand or glove. |
Quote:
See 2-Catch for some description of this, and there's a specific case on it as well (under 2.Catch) |
The situation you describe is not yet control. Safe in all baseball (and all softball) codes.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06am. |