The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   8.02a1 during dead ball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/9824-8-02a1-during-dead-ball.html)

BJ Moose Mon Aug 25, 2003 01:52pm

Yes or no?

Simple and not martian. Batter gets TIME, during this time, pitcher gives himself a slobber.

GarthB Mon Aug 25, 2003 02:22pm

When ball is put back in play, unslobber him.

BJ Moose Mon Aug 25, 2003 06:45pm

You carry a rag around with you for this purpose? Geez.

However, I "did" get my question answered from a "well known authorative source".

It is STILL A BALL... even if the ball is dead. You lick, you get the penalty.

GarthB Mon Aug 25, 2003 07:25pm

Nonetheless, I would put the ball in play and then point out the infraction.

If you want to take your position to the extreme all 8.02 infractions (a1-a6) are pointed out and enforced during a dead ball.

"Time", calls the umpire killing the ball and then while pointing at the pitcher, announces the penalty.

Say, how many angels can fit on the seams of a baseball?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1