![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But preventing a fielder from making an out should be an out. Preventing them from causing a ball to become foul should be a foul. |
Quote:
Just a foul ball even on a foul fly ball where an out might have been possible? To me the rules that were posted just serve to define fair/foul but are not addressing the interference part. The softball side seems confused. |
Quote:
PS - a fly ball is a completely different animal than this play, and is (and should be) interference in any code of either sport. |
Quote:
I'm just wondering if the focus was on the "foul ball" definition and nothing was checked on the interference part as it was assumed that answered the question. The rule about foul clearly includes a reference to interference but I didn't see any reference to interference rules. Or is it just another strange quirk in SB rules? |
Quote:
No, I think the softball rule intended for the runner to not be ruled out for interference if the ultimate ruling is to be a foul ball. Poor choice in words to use "interferes" instead of "hinders" |
Quote:
Real life example: Two years ago I was U1 in a HS playoff game. In back-to-back half-innings, we had slow-rolling "cue shots" toward first that were originally well in foul ground. Both ended up hitting the first base bag. One kicked back into foul ground, with B/R safe at first, the other caromed directly to F3 who was able to retire B/R. Both results benefited the same team, which went on to win a one-run game. And once again, runners know they're not supposed to intefere with fielders going after a ball. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That's how softball rules it anyway. Should be that way in baseball as well. |
I understand your point. And I really wouldn't have a problem if baseball rules read that way. But I don't think we want to get into having one rule for a ball that might become fair, and another for a ball that will never be fair.
Don't ignore the possibility that F1/F3 might decide at the last moment to let the ball continue to roll, rather than touching it foul. PLAY: R3, less than two outs. B1 hits a roller in foul ground up the first base line. As F1 is moving to "touch it foul", B1 collides with F1. If you rule this a foul, then the offense has potentially gained a huge advantage, since R3 would score if the ball ends up being fair. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am. |