Manny A |
Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:42pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja
(Post 937398)
After seeing the play, I agree. The correct ruling would be to put the runner back on 3b, thus moving the runners back 1. We now have 2 outs and the bases loaded.
|
I don't see how that could be considered the correct ruling here. No way that the runners who advanced should be sent back just because the play at first was overturned.
I think the review official saw the same thing that was mentioned on another board. F2 assumed the force was still on since F3 threw the ball home, so he set up for the simple force play. There's no way F2 saw U1's delayed Safe call and then set up. Just look at the video four seconds into it when U1 started to make the call, and you can see that the ball is already on its way home. F2 isn't going to be looking at U1 at that point, so I don't buy the argument that F2 was negatively affected by U1's call.
And I think F3 contributed to F2's confusion by going home on the play. He knew he tagged R1, so the next logical play would have been for him to double up the BR at first, not throw home, as DG mentioned earlier. Again from the four second hack in the video, the BR hadn't even reached the runner's lane when F3 threw home. F3 could have easily beaten the BR to the bag.
I think the blame falls squarely on the defense here, not on the umpires or the review official.
|