The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Foul Tip (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/97854-foul-tip.html)

JR12 Sun May 04, 2014 03:40pm

Foul Tip
 
I would have called Foul Ball.
Thoughts. .. CBSSports.com APP
550220/video-yadier-molina-catches-foul-tip-with-thigh-no-really

Robert Goodman Sun May 04, 2014 05:56pm

Can't watch the video, but does it make a difference? If he caught it before it hit the ground, isn't it either a fly out or a foul tip held by the catcher after 2 previous strikes? I could see differences if further plays were possible, but as to the batter, isn't he out either way? Or is there some in-between where a ball hit into foul ground can neither be caught there for an out nor considered a tip direct to the catcher?

bob jenkins Sun May 04, 2014 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 933329)
Can't watch the video, but does it make a difference? If he caught it before it hit the ground, isn't it either a fly out or a foul tip held by the catcher after 2 previous strikes? I could see differences if further plays were possible, but as to the batter, isn't he out either way? Or is there some in-between where a ball hit into foul ground can neither be caught there for an out nor considered a tip direct to the catcher?

Ditto on not watching the video (could not even follow the link), but to be a foul tip, it must first hit the glove or hand. If it first hits the mask, or protector, or thigh, then it's just a foul ball.

JR12 Sun May 04, 2014 07:22pm

CBSSports.com APP

JRutledge Sun May 04, 2014 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JR12 (Post 933337)

This takes you to a way to download an app. You probably should use a more direct link.

That being said, this was a foul ball. He never caught the ball with his glove.

Peace

umpjim Sun May 04, 2014 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 933338)
This takes you to a way to download an app. You probably should use a more direct link.

That being said, this was a foul ball. He never caught the ball with his glove.

Peace

And, it was not a fly ball. But what did the ump see and rule to get an out?

JRutledge Sun May 04, 2014 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 933344)
And, it was not a fly ball. But what did the ump see and rule to get an out?

Well the ball never hit the ground. I think umpire assumed he caught the ball and it appears no one challenged that ruling.

Peace

JR12 Mon May 05, 2014 08:24am

Yadier Molina completes strikeout by catching a foul tip with his knee | MLB.com

bob jenkins Mon May 05, 2014 08:38am

Should have been a foul ball. Impossible to see from the plate (depending on what happened after the .gif that they don't show us). ::shrug::

LRZ Mon May 05, 2014 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 933357)
Should have been a foul ball. Impossible to see from the plate (depending on what happened after the .gif that they don't show us). ::shrug::

Did anyone ask the PU to ask for help--he's got three partners. If questioned, I'd go to my partner and ask what he had. Get it right, no?

bob jenkins Mon May 05, 2014 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 933369)
Did anyone ask the PU to ask for help--he's got three partners. If questioned, I'd go to my partner and ask what he had. Get it right, no?

That's the issue.

JRutledge Mon May 05, 2014 11:51am

Why can't the BU just make the call if they clearly see this? It was not even close. That was the reason Molina was hurt, the ball hit his thigh.

Peace

LRZ Mon May 05, 2014 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 933375)
Why can't the BU just make the call if they clearly see this? It was not even close. That was the reason Molina was hurt, the ball hit his thigh.

Peace

These reasons occur to me:
(1) Some version of "that's my call, unless I ask for your help." At my level, it's something to discuss in the pre-game; usually, we would treat this as something the BU could jump in quickly, like a 3d-strike pitch in the dirt or a shot that jumps up and hits the batter in the box.
(2) You can't overrule your partner. If he needs or wants your help, he'll ask for it.
(3) If your partner calls X, and you, equally positive, call Y, what a mess!

JRutledge Mon May 05, 2014 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 933379)
These reasons occur to me:
(1) Some version of "that's my call, unless I ask for your help." At my level, it's something to discuss in the pre-game; usually, we would treat this as something the BU could jump in quickly, like a 3d-strike pitch in the dirt or a shot that jumps up and hits the batter in the box.
(2) You can't overrule your partner. If he needs or wants your help, he'll ask for it.
(3) If your partner calls X, and you, equally positive, call Y, what a mess!

When I worked baseball, this would have been discussed by me as the PU/UIC to have my partners call a foul ball immediately if they saw one on a play like this. If they did not see anything, then I would not expect them to make a call. But I discussed this so that they were empowered to do their job. Of course there were things I would have to ask about to be sure and sometimes that might be because the coach wanted to know something, but I already knew the answer by what we discussed in pregame with my partner.

Peace

jicecone Mon May 05, 2014 01:01pm

Do you think that maybe the No. 1 reason it probably wasn't called correctly was...........

NO ONE SAW IT!

PERHAPS:confused::confused::confused:

JRutledge Mon May 05, 2014 01:06pm

I think they did not see it. But based on how many other things MLB umpires have seen across the field or what clearly was not there call; if they didn't see it that is odd to me at least. And I am not being critical saying that, just do not know why they would not see this. Better yet I am surprised that no coach or team member on the Cubs did not say a thing either, other than complete ignorance (surprise) of the rule.

Peace

Manny A Mon May 05, 2014 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 933388)
...if they didn't see it that is odd to me at least. And I am not being critical saying that, just do not know why they would not see this.

I can easily see why they would not see it. The ball's trajectory off the bat takes it pretty close to Yadi's mitt, at least from the gif video. It's not an obvious call where he goes down with the mitt on a low pitch, and the ball is then tipped and it hits his mask. U3 would be the only one who had an angle to tell, and it would still be too close to be sure.

JRutledge Mon May 05, 2014 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 933392)
I can easily see why they would not see it. The ball's trajectory off the bat takes it pretty close to Yadi's mitt, at least from the gif video. It's not an obvious call where he goes down with the mitt on a low pitch, and the ball is then tipped and it hits his mask. U3 would be the only one who had an angle to tell, and it would still be too close to be sure.

Fair enough. And my criticism is not that scathing, I just was surprised they missed this. All the other things they talk about, I was surprised someone did not save the crew.

Peace

Robert Goodman Tue May 06, 2014 08:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 933330)
Ditto on not watching the video (could not even follow the link), but to be a foul tip, it must first hit the glove or hand. If it first hits the mask, or protector, or thigh, then it's just a foul ball.

Where does it have to go to qualify as a fly ball that can be caught for an out? And is it possible to satisfy that criterion after hitting the catcher's body or equipment? Our gym teacher gave us a standard (6' over the catcher's head) that I've been told here was not correct.

jicecone Tue May 06, 2014 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 933541)
Where does it have to go to qualify as a fly ball that can be caught for an out? And is it possible to satisfy that criterion after hitting the catcher's body or equipment? Our gym teacher gave us a standard (6' over the catcher's head) that I've been told here was not correct.

OBS - "A fly ball is a batted ball that goes high in the air in flight".

NFHS - "A fly ball is a batted ball that rises an appreciable height above the ground."

NCAA - A batted ball that goes high in the air directly off the bat.

I think the NCAA definition using the word highlighted, answers your question for all codes. You, as the umpire, are to make the determination what "high in the air" or "appreciable height" means.

Rich Ives Tue May 06, 2014 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 933541)
And is it possible to satisfy that criterion after hitting the catcher's body or equipment? .

No.

2.00 A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher’s
hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught
is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand.

Matt Tue May 06, 2014 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 933541)
Where does it have to go to qualify as a fly ball that can be caught for an out? And is it possible to satisfy that criterion after hitting the catcher's body or equipment? Our gym teacher gave us a standard (6' over the catcher's head) that I've been told here was not correct.

A ball doesn't have to be a fly ball to be caught for an out.

Robert Goodman Tue May 06, 2014 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 933542)
OBS - "A fly ball is a batted ball that goes high in the air in flight".

NFHS - "A fly ball is a batted ball that rises an appreciable height above the ground."

NCAA - A batted ball that goes high in the air directly off the bat.

I think the NCAA definition using the word highlighted, answers your question for all codes. You, as the umpire, are to make the determination what "high in the air" or "appreciable height" means.

Then would it not be possible to line out to 1B or 3B if the catch is made in foul ground? Or...wait a minute...is it not possible to line out anywhere? But wait again...Matt wrote:
Quote:

A ball doesn't have to be a fly ball to be caught for an out.
Ok, that's something of a relief. So what kinds of ball can be caught for an out? Are the criteria different in fair & foul ground? Or different for catchers from other players?

I'm looking at NCAA 7-11 now, and I don't see any provision for a catch of anything other than a fly ball or foul tip to make an out. Which does seem to mean you can't line out, fair or foul. Did they sneak it in someplace else?

The definition of "catch" is interesting too. When it says "the fielder does not use...any...part of the uniform in getting possession", does that mean only loose-fitting parts of the uniform that can extend a distance from the body, or does it include any cloth covering any of the player's skin, no matter how closely? And does "use" cover inadvertent deflections, or only deliberate use?

soundedlikeastrike Wed May 07, 2014 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 933556)
Then would it not be possible to line out to 1B or 3B if the catch is made in foul ground? Or...wait a minute...is it not possible to line out anywhere? But wait again...Matt wrote:

Ok, that's something of a relief. So what kinds of ball can be caught for an out? Are the criteria different in fair & foul ground? Or different for catchers from other players?

I'm looking at NCAA 7-11 now, and I don't see any provision for a catch of anything other than a fly ball or foul tip to make an out. Which does seem to mean you can't line out, fair or foul. Did they sneak it in someplace else?

The definition of "catch" is interesting too. When it says "the fielder does not use...any...part of the uniform in getting possession", does that mean only loose-fitting parts of the uniform that can extend a distance from the body, or does it include any cloth covering any of the player's skin, no matter how closely? And does "use" cover inadvertent deflections, or only deliberate use?

I think they snuck it in. This leads me to believe if it could of qualified as a foul tip, but didn't hit the hand or glove, then it's a foul ball.

From OBR foul tip; the last sentence.

"It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first
touched the catcher’s glove or hand."

bob jenkins Wed May 07, 2014 07:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 933556)
Ok, that's something of a relief. So what kinds of ball can be caught for an out? Are the criteria different in fair & foul ground? Or different for catchers from other players?

I'm looking at NCAA 7-11 now, and I don't see any provision for a catch of anything other than a fly ball or foul tip to make an out. Which does seem to mean you can't line out, fair or foul. Did they sneak it in someplace else?

The definition of "catch" is interesting too. When it says "the fielder does not use...any...part of the uniform in getting possession", does that mean only loose-fitting parts of the uniform that can extend a distance from the body, or does it include any cloth covering any of the player's skin, no matter how closely? And does "use" cover inadvertent deflections, or only deliberate use?

The key words in the "foul tip" definition are "sharp and direct". If it first hits the catcher's hand or glove, then it's a strike. If it hits the catcher or umpire first, then it's foul (and also not technical a "foul tip", but I digress).

Any other batted ball that's caught in flight is an out.

jicecone Wed May 07, 2014 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 933556)
Then would it not be possible to line out to 1B or 3B if the catch is made in foul ground? Or...wait a minute...is it not possible to line out anywhere? But wait again...Matt wrote:

Ok, that's something of a relief. So what kinds of ball can be caught for an out? Are the criteria different in fair & foul ground? Or different for catchers from other players?

I'm looking at NCAA 7-11 now, and I don't see any provision for a catch of anything other than a fly ball or foul tip to make an out. Which does seem to mean you can't line out, fair or foul. Did they sneak it in someplace else?

The definition of "catch" is interesting too. When it says "the fielder does not use...any...part of the uniform in getting possession", does that mean only loose-fitting parts of the uniform that can extend a distance from the body, or does it include any cloth covering any of the player's skin, no matter how closely? And does "use" cover inadvertent deflections, or only deliberate use?

So if your trying to tell us that the rules are not always clear and can sometimes be outright confusing, YOUR RIGHT!

But, Dems Da Rules and sometimes you just have to umpire by prior interprtations and precedence and not logic, feelings or the way your local sportscaster thinks it should be.

Robert Goodman Thu May 08, 2014 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 933578)
So if your trying to tell us that the rules are not always clear and can sometimes be outright confusing, YOUR RIGHT!

No, not just that, but that the rules writers of at least OBR & NCAA have been evading fixing up an omission for many years. I can't believe nobody's called to their att'n the fact that the provision for a line out is missing.

chapmaja Thu May 08, 2014 11:55pm

The reason this likely was missed is simple. From the PU's point of view, it make have looked like it clipped the glove between when it left the bat and when it hit the catchers thigh. If it had hit the catchers glove, then the thigh and was subsequently controlled without touching the ground, it is a foul tip and thus strike 3 on the batter.

Looking at the play in slow motion, it looks like it might just clip the glove of the catcher going back. It certainly isn't a significant contact, but it might just graze the glove as it goes back, which satisfies the rule.

chapmaja Fri May 09, 2014 12:13am

A third strike is legally caught by the catcher;
Rule 6.05(b) Comment: “Legally caught” means in the catcher’s glove before the ball
touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the
umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound.
If a foul tip first strikes the catcher’s glove and then goes on through and is caught by both
hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike,
batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the
catcher’s glove or hand first.
(c)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1