![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
No, they do not. They do not keep old (even prior year) interps on their website.
|
|
|||
2015 NFHS Baseball Interpretations
Baseball Rules Interpretations - 2015
By NFHS on February 10, 2015 baseball SITUATION 1: The lead-off batter comes to the plate wearing a batting helmet that has tape around and through one of the ear holes. When asked about the helmet, the batter says the helmet is in good shape with no cracks and the tape is present to hold the ear pad in place. RULING: The helmet is not legal. The batter must obtain a legal helmet, one that is free of cracks and damage and has no tape. (1-5-1, 4-1-3b) SITUATION 2: In the second inning, a batter comes to the plate wearing a batting helmet that has a mirror-like glare surface to it. The plate umpire instructs the batter to obtain a legal helmet and asks the coach to remove this helmet from play. In the fifth inning, another batter for the same team comes to bat wearing a batting helmet with a mirror-like surface. The opposing coach inquires if the head coach of the offensive team should be restricted to the bench since this is the second instance of a batter wearing an illegal helmet. RULING: The coach of the offensive team is not restricted for this issue. The batter is instructed to replace his batting helmet with a legal one and to remove this helmet from play. (1-5-1, 4-1-3b Penalty) SITUATION 3: An open media area was designated and properly lined before the game. The home coach has placed a video recording camera on a tripod in the media area. The opposing coach objects to the camera’s placement, stating that the camera must be in the dugout. RULING: This is legal. Video monitoring or replay equipment must be placed in the dugout or another dead-ball area. (3-3-1, 1-2-8) SITUATION 4: The home coach has expanded both dugouts legally and has placed a video camera in the expanded area. The opposing coach tells the plate umpire that he thought the equipment must be within the confines of the structure of the dugout. RULING: This is legal. Video monitoring or replay equipment must be placed in the dugout or another dead-ball area. (3-3-1, 1-2-8) SITUATION 5: The home coach has placed a wireless camera in the stands behind the dugout which transmits its recording to a monitor in the dugout. RULING: This is legal. Video monitoring or replay equipment must be placed in the dugout, stands or another dead-ball area. (3-3-1, 1-2-8) SITUATION 6: To obtain information on the opposing pitcher, the team is using a radar gun in (a) its own dugout or (b) in the stands, where it is being handled by a parent of the team. RULING: Legal in both (a) and (b). (3-3-1) SITUATION 7: An assistant coach in the uniform of his team, is sitting in the stands recording the game and using a radar gun on his pitcher. RULING: While it is legal for a camera or radar gun to be placed in the stands, it may not be used by a coach, player, attendant or other bench personnel. The assistant coach must be in the dugout or a dead-ball area inside the confines of the field. (3-3-1i) SITUATION 8: As the pitcher looks into the catcher for a sign, the batter is moving his bat back and forth across the plate. The batter accidentally contacts the catcher with his bat during this movement. RULING: This is backswing interference. The ball is immediately dead and all players are provided time to regain their positions. (2-21-5, 5-1-1n, 7-3-7 Penalty) SITUATION 9: With a crucial play at the plate not going his way, the coach of the defensive team checks his replay equipment and sees that the call of safe was not correct. He calls time and approaches the plate umpire with his tablet to show him the call needs to be reversed. RULING: The plate umpire may not use videotape or replay equipment for the purpose of rendering a decision. The plate umpire should professionally inform the coach that he cannot look at the video play and request that he return to the dugout. (10-1-5) SITUATION 10: After bringing in a substitute pitcher, the defensive head coach is still at the mound after the eighth warm-up pitch. Shall a defensive conference be declared by the plate umpire? RULING: To maintain a solid pace of play for the game, the coach should be on his way back to the dugout at the conclusion of the pitcher’s warm-up throws. If the coach lingers, the plate umpire should ask the coach if he wants a defensive conference to now be charged and, if not, the game needs to resume. (3-4, 2015 Points of Emphasis) SITUATION 11: After a team’s player has hit a go-ahead home run, the team gathers around home plate to congratulate him. RULING: Since the ball is dead with the home run, the players may gather outside the dugout to congratulate their teammate. However, they must provide the plate umpire the ability to observe all the players on base touch home to verify that they scored. Preventative umpiring by the plate umpire, urging players to stay away from the plate, may assist in this need. (2015 Points of Emphasis) SITUATION 12: In the fifth inning, the batter hits a bases-clearing home run for the fifth hit in a row by his team. As his teammates gather to congratulate him, one of them taunts the catcher with a comment on all the hits that have occurred. RULING: While it is acceptable for a team to celebrate and congratulate each other on such an exciting event, good sportsmanship must be maintained. The plate umpire should immediately warn and/or eject depending upon the content of the comment. (3-3-1f-2, 2015 Points of Emphasis) SITUATION 13: Following the completion of the game, one of the umpires is still within the confines of the field. The losing coach berates him for his performance and directs some inappropriate language toward him. RULING: Since both umpires have not left the confines of the field following the completion of the game, the umpire still has jurisdiction over the game. The umpire may warn or eject the coach, even though the game is over. (10-1-2, 2015 Points of Emphasis) SITUATION 14: After the umpires have left the field following the conclusion of the game, the visiting coach and some of the parents follow the umpires to their cars to state their opinions on the umpires’ performance. RULING: The umpires are to be left alone and allowed to leave the field without being subject to poor sportsmanship. While the umpires no longer have jurisdiction to eject a player or coach, a report should be made to the state association concerning the incident. (10-1-2, 2015 Points of Emphasis) SITUATION 15: A batter with his foot on the ground completely outside the lines of the batter’s box hits the pitch which goes directly to the catcher’s hands and is caught by the catcher. RULING: The batter is out and the ball is dead. (7-3-2) SITUATION 16: The batter legally contacts the pitch with his bat and his lead foot then lands on the ground outside of the batter’s box. The batted ball contacts the ground in front of home plate and spins back, contacting the batter’s leg that is outside the batter’s box. RULING: This is a foul ball. With one foot still in the batter’s box, the batter is considered to be in the batter’s box at the time he was contacted by the batted ball. (2-16-1g) SITUATION 17: With first base empty, the batter swings and misses the pitch for strike three. The catcher is unable to catch the pitch, which rolls some distance away from home plate. The batter moves from the batter’s box to first base and the plate umpire goes up the first base foul line to observe the batter advancing in the running lane. The catcher’s throw hits the umpire in the back and rebounds away, allowing the batter-runner to easily advance to first base. RULING: The ball remains live and in play. This is not umpire interference as he did not hinder the catcher’s attempt to throw. Proper use of umpire mechanics would prevent this from happening. (2-21-2) SITUATION 18: The batted fly ball lands past first base in fair territory and rebounds into foul ground. The base umpire, mistakenly declares “Foul Ball.” The plate umpire, having a great view of the ball, immediately overrules the base umpire and declares the hit to be fair. RULING: Since the base umpire declared it to be a foul ball and it did touch the ground, it is a foul ball and immediately dead. The plate umpire cannot overrule the call. (2-16-1e, 5-1-1h) SITUATION 19: Caught in a rundown between home and third, R2 is returning to third base when the catcher throws the ball to the third baseman who is covering the base. The third baseman does not catch the ball, which is caught by the shortstop who is backing up the play behind third base. Everyone else, including the third baseman, believes the third baseman has the ball when he tags R2 as he slides back into third base. The third baseman shows the umpire an empty glove and is confused as R2 safely slides into third base. The offensive head coach wants the umpire to declare a fake tag and award R2 home. RULING: This is not a fake tag. The third baseman simply did not catch the ball. (2-22-2) SITUATION 20: The batter hits the ball to the shortstop who bobbles the ball and throws late to first base. The batter-runner beats the throw but does not touch first base. RULING: The runner beats the ball on the play and is considered to be safe. The defense must appeal the missed base or tag the batter-runner before he returns to first in order to have the out declared for the missed base. (8-2-1 Penalty) |
|
|||
Baseball Rules Interpretations - 2016
Baseball Rules Interpretations - 2016
By NFHS on February 05, 2016 SITUATION 1: A head coach uses vulgar and profane language when addressing the base umpire. The base umpire ejects the head coach without first issuing a warning. RULING: When an unsportsmanlike act using profane language directed at an umpire is judged to be a major violation, the penalty is an immediate ejection. No warning is necessary. (3-3-1f2 Penalty) SITUATION 2: A written warning accompanied by a bench restriction must occur prior to an ejection. RULING: If an unsportsmanlike act is judged to be a major violation, an ejection may be made without a prior warning being given. Additionally, there are specific acts in Rule 3-3-1l-q, where the penalty is an immediate ejection. (3-3-1f-k Penalty, 3-3-1l-q Penalty) SITUATION 3: A head coach is upset about a close call at home plate. During an animated discussion, he bumps the plate umpire. RULING: The head coach is ejected. Physical contact with an umpire, even if unintended or accidental, shall result in an ejection of the offender. (3-3-1q Penalty) SITUATION 4: The first base assistant coach is upset over an “out” call on a steal at second base. The assistant coach goes to the area around second base and, while arguing the call, kicks dirt on the base umpire. RULING: The assistant coach is ejected; no warning is needed prior to the ejection. The head coach is restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game. (3-3-1q Penalty, 3-3-1f6 Penalty) SITUATION 5: During the course of the game, the plate umpire has utilized numerous non-verbal, preventative warnings to the head coach. In the sixth inning, the coach continues to complain about various calls and is ejected by the plate umpire. RULING: Unless the last event was a major unsportsmanlike act, the head coach must first receive a written warning and be restricted to the bench before an ejection. (3-3-1f Penalty, 10-2-3j) SITUATION 6: Having previously received a written warning and a restriction to the dugout for a minor unsportsmanlike outburst, the coach again loudly complains about the plate umpire’s strike zone and performance. RULING: The coach is ejected from the game. Having been previously warned and restricted to the bench, any subsequent minor or a major violation results in ejection. (3-3-1f Penalty) SITUATION 7: What is a head coach who is restricted to the bench allowed to do? RULING: Even though the head coach is restricted to the bench and may not occupy a coaching box, he is still the head coach. He still represents the team in communications with umpires and may address and coach base runners, the batter, defensive players and other coaches. He may hold team conferences at the dugout or bench area. He may leave the bench/dugout area to attend to a player who becomes ill or injured and may request to talk to an umpire concerning a rule or rule enforcement. However, he shall be ejected for any further misconduct. (3-2-1, 3-3-1f Penalty) SITUATION 8: What may a coach who is ejected do? RULING: A coach who is ejected shall immediately leave the vicinity of the playing area and is prohibited from further contact – direct or indirect – with the team during the remainder of the game. His presence away from the field shall be such that he cannot be seen or heard from the playing field. He may return when requested to attend to an ill or injured player. (3-3-2) SITUATION 9: A pitcher comes to the mound wearing a “camouflaged” compression sleeve that does not extend below the elbow. RULING: A camouflaged compression sleeve worn by the pitcher is legal. (1-4-2) SITUATION 10: A pitcher is wearing a compression sleeve on his pitching arm that extends to his wrist. The compression sleeve is a solid black color. RULING: This compression sleeve is legal. Compression sleeves worn by the pitcher that extend below the elbow shall be solid black or solid dark color. (1-4-2) SITUATION 11: The pitcher has a white compression sleeve that extends only to his elbow on his (a) pitching arm, (b) non-pitching arm or (c) both arms. RULING: This is legal in (a), (b) and (c). Compression sleeves worn by a pitcher that extend only to the elbow may be white, gray, solid black or a dark color. Compression sleeves may be worn on one arm (pitching or non-pitching) or both arms. (1-4-2) SITUATION 12: The pitcher is wearing a long, dark black compression sleeve to his wrist on one arm and a white compression sleeve that extends only to the elbow on the other arm. RULING: This is legal provided the plate umpire does not judge this to be distracting to a batter. (1-4-2; 6-2-1f) SITUATION 13: The pitcher has a compression sleeve that extends to his wrist. The portion of the sleeve that is below the elbow is a dark solid color, while the portion of the sleeve that extends to the elbow is white. RULING: This is illegal. A compression sleeve that extends below the pitcher’s elbow must be solid black or a solid dark color. (1-4-2) SITUATION 14: The home team is wearing a vest-type uniform with a white shirt worn underneath. The sleeves of the shirt under the vest extend only to the elbow. RULING: This is legal. A pitcher’s shirt worn under the vest is not an undershirt. It may be white, provided it does not extend below the elbow. (1-4-2) SITUATION 15: The visiting team is wearing a vest-type uniform with a white shirt worn underneath. The sleeves extend to the players’ wrists. The plate umpire informs the coach that this is not legal for the pitcher. The pitcher changes to a black shirt under the vest with sleeves that extend to his wrists. The opposing coach argues that this is not legal as uniforms must be of the same color and style. RULING: It is legal, in this instance, for the pitcher to wear a shirt under his vest of a different color than the rest of the team. Any sleeve worn by the pitcher that extends below his elbow must be a solid black or a solid dark color. (1-4-1, 1-4-2) SITUATION 16: The catcher helps warm up a pitcher in (a) the bullpen or (b) on the field. He takes a crouch position and is wearing a skull cap and a catcher’s mask that is not attached. RULING: This is not compliant equipment for the catcher. The catcher’s helmet and mask combination shall meet the NOCSAE standard and shall have full ear (dual ear flaps) protection. (1-5-4) SITUATION 17: A left-handed pitcher attempts to pick-off the runner at first base. Simultaneously with his throw, the pitcher picks up his pivot foot and places it behind the pitcher’s plate. The throw bounces off the first baseman’s glove and goes into dead-ball territory. The base umpire awards the runner third base, ruling that the pitcher was an infielder and the award is two bases. RULING: The award should be second base; only one base. The status of the pitcher at the time he made the attempted pick-off throw was still that of a pitcher, not an infielder. After the pitcher places his pivot foot on the ground clearly behind the pitcher’s plate, his status then changes to that of an infielder. Moving his pivot foot at the same time he attempts the pick-off does not change his status as a pitcher. (6-1-3, 8-3-3d) SITUATION 18: With a runner on first and no outs, the batter hits the pitch in the left-center gap and R1 attempts to reach third base. The center fielder overthrows third base and the pitcher, backing up the play, catches the throw, and then steps into the dugout. RULING: This is a two-base award to both runners, awarded from the time the pitcher stepped into the dugout. The throw from the outfielder was complete when the pitcher caught it, and the subsequent action is a new one. If both runners are between second and third, they both will be awarded home. If they were both between first and second, R1 is awarded third and the batter is awarded second base. (5-1-1i, 8-3-3c2, 8-3-5) SITUATION 19: R1 is attempting to score from third base and is obstructed by the catcher who tags him on the play. After the play is over, the home plate umpire declares “Time” and awards the runner home. R1 does not touch home plate. The next batter enters the batter’s box and the plate umpire announces “Play.” The pitcher next requests “Time” and appeals the runner not touching home plate. RULING: This is a legal appeal. The runner will be declared out and the run will no longer count. All bases must be touched, even on an award. A dead-ball appeal may be made before the next legal or illegal pitch. (8-2-1, 8-2-5 Penalty) SITUATION 20: The batter singles to right field and (a) the ball rolls to a stop and the right fielder, attempting to pick up the ball, kicks it into dead-ball territory; or (b) the bounding ball strikes the right fielder’s leg and deflects into dead-ball territory. RULING: In (a), the right fielder applied the impetus that caused the ball to go into dead-ball territory, the same as if he had thrown it there. The award to any runner is two bases from the base occupied at the time of the kick. In (b), the force on the batted ball caused the ball to go into dead-ball territory, so the award to any runner is two bases from the base occupied at the time of the pitch. (8-3-3c, 8-3-5)
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
2017 NFHS Interpretations
SITUATION 1: The coach runs out of the dugout, yelling profanity and throwing his hat at the base umpire as he disputes a call. RULING: When an unsportsmanlike act involving profane language directed at an umpire is judged to be a major violation, the penalty is an immediate ejection. No warning is necessary. These actions warrant an immediate ejection. (3-3- 1f2 Penalty) SITUATION 2: While objecting to a call, the head coach commits what he believes is a minor offense. However, due to the nature of the offense, the umpire issues a written warning and restricts the coach to the dugout. The coach states that since he has not yet received a verbal warning, he cannot be given a written warning and subsequently be restricted to the bench. RULING: A coach does not have to first receive a verbal warning to receive a written warning. The three options available to an umpire do not have to be completed in succession. Umpires do not have to give a verbal warning before issuing a written warning. Additionally, for major offenses, an offender shall be ejected immediately. The coach is restricted to the dugout. (3-3-1fk Penalty) SITUATION 3: In the third inning, the head coach was restricted to the bench/dugout because one of his players was discovered to be using an illegal bat while at bat. In the fifth inning, the head coach commits a minor violation in arguing a call. The minor violation by itself does not warrant an ejection. RULING: The head coach is eject-ed. Because the head coach was previously restricted, he shall be ejected for any subsequent offense. (3-3-1f Penalty, 4-1-3b Penalty) SITUATION 4: After a close play at second base on an attempted steal where the base umpire judged the runner out, the player addresses the umpire with his thoughts on the umpire’s decision. RULING: Since the statements by the player are such that they cannot be ignored, the player is ejected. Players, except for illegal substitution, cannot be restricted to the bench for misconduct. (3-1-1, 3-3-1f2 Penalty) SITUATION 5: Early in the game, the home team received a team warning for a player wearing a bandanna. A few innings later the coach argues a call and is issued a verbal warning. Because of the previous team warning the coach is ejected. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The previous team warning is just that – a warning to the team with the next offender on the team being ejected. It is not an action against the head coach. All the coach has received is a verbal warning for his actions in arguing a call and is not restricted. (3-3- 1d Penalty, 3-3-1f Penalty) SITUATION 6: For a minor offense in the third inning, the head coach was restricted to the bench. In the fifth inning, his assistant coach leaves his coaching box to object to a call at second base. RULING: The assistant coach will receive a written warning and will be restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game. With the head coach already restricted, he is now ejected from the game due to the penalty for the assistant coach leaving his coaching box to argue a call. (3-3-1f6 Penalty) SITUATION 7: With bases loaded and no outs, the batter hits a slow ground ball to the shortstop, who fields the ball and throws home. The runner from third base slides in a direct line between third base and home plate and arrives at home before the ball arrives. The runner’s slide carries the runner over home plate and into the catcher, who is now unable to make a play on another runner because of the contact by the runner. There was nothing malicious in nature with the slide. RULING: Because the runner slides in a direct line between the two bases, it is permissible for his momentum to carry him through the plate in the baseline extended. With the slide being legal, merely sliding past home and into a fielder does not constitute an illegal act. The runner is safe and there is no resulting penalty. (2-32-2c) SITUATION 8: With runners on second and third, the third-base runner is taking his lead-off position well in foul territory to the side of third base. The batter hits a ground ball to the second baseman, who fields the ball and throws home in an attempt to put out the runner advancing from third. The runner from third base, still in the base path he established when he first attempted to advance home, slides over home plate and into the catcher. The catcher was knocked down by the contact from the runner from third base and is unable to make a play on the batter-runner advancing to second base. RULING: Since the runner from third base slides in a straight line in his established base path, and there are no other aspects of the slide present that would make the slide illegal, the run counts and play continues. There is no penalty on the play. (2-32-2c) SITUATION 9: The runner from third base slides past home plate, out of his established base path. He then contacts the catcher, preventing him from making a play on the runner at second base. RULING: If the play at home plate was a non-force play, the run would count, but the ball would be dead when the runner contacted the catcher. An out on the runner at second base would be called due to the third-base runner’s interference. If the play began as a force play, because the runner slides out of his base path, this is now force-play slide interference. The ball is immediately dead, the run will not count, and the runner plus the batter-runner will be declared out. (2-32- 2c, 8-4-2b Penalty) SITUATION 10: The home team believes the visiting team’s pitcher has violated the state’s pitch-count policy by exceeding the maximum number of pitches as his team leads in the sixth inning, 8-0. The home team asks the plate umpire to forfeit the game or, at a minimum, have the pitcher removed as a pitcher. RULING: Each state association will set its own regulations and protocols for violation of Rule 6-1-6. The umpire should suggest the coach contact and/or notify the state association. (6-1-6)
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
2023-2024 Rules Changes Announced. | JRutledge | Basketball | 140 | Tue Oct 17, 2023 01:34pm |
NFHS new rules 2023-2024 | Scrapper1 | Volleyball | 1 | Sat Feb 04, 2023 10:08am |
NFHS Rules Interpreters versus IAABO Rules Interpreters | dpicard | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 07, 2009 01:13pm |
2008 - 2009 Rules Interps Situation 6 | mdray | Basketball | 4 | Fri Oct 31, 2008 02:11pm |
State Interps of FED rules | PeteBooth | Baseball | 3 | Fri Feb 23, 2007 07:08pm |