So, in OBR only, in the R1, R3 scenario, you would score the run if R3 scored before the INT because of the intervening play ruling?
No. I'd return R3 based on 7.09(f), especially: In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner.
(unless I'm misreading the play)
Besides, the 2.00 Interference comment specifically says "intervening play at the plate"
umpjim
Thu Oct 31, 2013 03:19pm
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
(Post 909520)
No. I'd return R3 based on 7.09(f), especially: In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner.
(unless I'm misreading the play)
Besides, the 2.00 Interference comment specifically says "intervening play at the plate"
Isn't 7.09f about a batted ball and a thrown ball is 6.something m which doesn't advise of runner placement so you use 2.00(a)?
bob jenkins
Thu Oct 31, 2013 03:28pm
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim
(Post 909522)
Isn't 7.09f about a batted ball and a thrown ball is 6.something m which doesn't advise of runner placement so you use 2.00(a)?
That works too.
Rita C
Sat Nov 02, 2013 01:39am
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim
(Post 909455)
There is always a tag attempt or the like on any double play. I believe the intervening play ruling only applies to the running lane interference example.
Which is what I was referring to. And the intervening play has to be on R3