![]() |
Runner fails to touch 2nd base.....Lansing loses in extra innings!!!
Does anyone have the video of this and would be kind enough to post for all to see ?????
And BTW - has anything this crazy ever happened to you ???? |
Quote:
|
|
Quote:
So is this abandonment or an appeal? :cool: |
It looks like a simple force out at second.
Why is the BU at home plate? Weird. |
At 1:35, you can see a fielder standing with both feet on 2nd base, and a white object in his right hand. I think a reasonable guess is this was neither an appeal nor abandonment. It was a simple force out.
|
Quote:
But, based on the video, they did get it right. And, I think BU is at the plate to talk to the manager and to make sure that PU knew that the game wasn't over. Or, maybe BU was running off and PU stopped him. |
What in the world could the manager be arguing?
|
Quote:
|
From the MLBUM and PBUC:
"Bases loaded, two out, score tied in the bottom of the ninth inning. Batter hits a home run out of the ballpark. Runner on first, thinking the home run wins the game, leaves the baseline and heads toward the dugout. The runner at first is declared out before the runner from third reaches home plate. Other runners continue around the bases and eventually touch home. Ruling: No runs score; the third out was made before the runner from third touched homeplate. Game continues in the top of the tenth inning with the score still tied." So end result the same in the OP, but, if you call abandonment on R1 and PU has R3 scoring before the out call the run should score. Except, can you still accept an appeal at 2B for a force out? Wendelstedt does not like the PBUC and MLBUM interps. |
Yes, you can get an appeal for the force out.
|
Quote:
Now it has happened in a MiLB game and we don't know exactly how they ruled except the end result was proper. But if the BU ruled abandonment, as PBUC and MLBUM says they should, and the PU ruled "run scored" (not what happened in the OP) do we have game over and reset for a proper appeal or is the throw to 2B during "continuing action" a good appeal? I think abandonment in this particular situation might be grabbing the shitty end of the stick if the defense does what they did in the OP. |
Hard to imagine that R3 wouldn't touch home before a shocked U1 or U2 declared R1 out.
Especially if it prevents extra innings. :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
-Josh |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Not sure the ball was ever declared "dead" - the RF in the video is pointing over towards 2B where the SS is standing on the base with the ball looking for an umpire to make a call??? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The MLBUM play that umpjim quoted has R1 failing to go to second base on an apparent walk-off grand slam with two outs. R1 is declared out for abandonment for the third out. The ruling on the play said that since the abandonment declaration happened before R3 touched home, R3's run doesn't count. Seems to me it shouldn't matter if the abandonment declaration happens before or after R3 touches home. The result of the call is what amounts to a force out, so when R3 touches is immaterial. Or so I thought. The MLBUM ruling makes it sound like this is a timing play. |
By interpretation (as I recall it), abandonment is not a force play even if it happens before a runner reaches his forced base. You can still get a force out on appeal, though.
|
Quote:
So, a batter swings and misses at a pitch in the dirt for an uncaught third strike with two outs and a runner at third. He stands at home and waves R3 home. R3 scores what would be the apparent game-winning run, and the batter steps outside of the dirt circle around the plate patting R3's back as they head to the dugout. A teammate tells the batter he still needs to run to first base, but he's already ruled out for abandonment by the PU. I would think the PU would announce the abandonment call, and then turn to the scorer and wave off the run. I wouldn't expect that the defense would still have to appeal at first base. |
Quote:
|
ô!ô
It is just "Manny being Manny"
T |
Quote:
|
Quote:
"The play under 3.14 of the PBUC manual seems to indicate that ALL instances of "abandoning effort" with two outs are time play situations, whether the runner has reached his forced base, or not. This contradicts the rule book by either changing the definition of a force play, or by ignoring Rule 4.09 (a). Our suggestion is that if a runner is called out for abandoning his effort before he reaches the base he is forced to, this should be a force out. Example Play: R1, R3, two outs score tied. The batter hits a base hit though the infield, seemingly scoring the winning run. Just after R3 crosses home plate, R1 starts running off the field before he reaches second base, believing the game is over. The umpire calls him out for abandoning his effort to run the bases. Official Ruling: The run scores. This is a time play. Preferred Ruling: The run does not score. This is a force play. Had he advanced to second base before running off of the field, this would be a time play." So if you don't recognize/call abandonment and the defense does it's job as in the OP you won't have a problem. |
Personally, I can't ever imagine ruling abandonment on a forced runner unless the defense also gives up their efforts to play the ball and make outs.
|
Quote:
The problem becomes when the defense thinks the game is over and doesn't realize an appeal is in order, they all head into the dugout, and you recognize that an abandonment call is still possible. Both teams screwed up, and yet we only hold the defense accountable by not making the abandonment call. Or we do make it but we make it after the winning run scores, which renders the out for abandonment moot, as currently interpreted. There should be consistency. A forced runner who is ruled out before he reaches his forced-to base should be considered a force out under all intents and purposes. |
Honestly, the interp that an abandonment call is a timing play only makes sense if it's done after the defense has also stopped trying to get the player out. If you wait until the defense is also not trying to get this player out, and then call abandonment - the run scores and there's no change necessary.
But if the defense is still playing the ball (or, as in the OP, throwing to 2nd to get the out), you can't call abandonment and then also rule it a timing play... The OP is easy - a simple force out at 2nd. |
Doh! The godforsaken Merkle Boner!!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm. |