![]() |
Base runner hit by ball
Runner on second, batter hits hard ground ball to right of pitcher. The pitcher is trying to make a play on the ball, the ball hits off his glove and hit the runner as he was advancing to third.
The umpire called him out. I do not think that was the correct call. Please let me know. Thanks |
Quote:
|
Quote:
And where was either F5 or F6 in relation to this "Deflected" ball? Did either have a chance to make a play on the ball? |
The runner is out if hit by a batted ball. This ball deflected off F1's glove so it is no longer a batted ball, it is now a deflected ball. A deflected ball striking a runner is nothing.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The answer to your question is NEITHER... and my only excuse is that for some reason when we discuss these here my feeble mind ignores the difference between interfering with a deflected ball, and interfering with a FIELDER on a deflected ball. I'll crawl back into my hole now... my apologies, Ozzy - I know better than to say you're wrong! :) |
Quote:
|
As Mike pointed out (the second time ;)), runners aren't liable for INT on a deflected ball. That's because they don't know where it's going & thus can't avoid it.
However, they may still be liable for INT with a fielder, if the umpire judges the fielder still has a legitimate play on the ball. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18am. |