The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Ball in hat (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/94981-ball-hat.html)

onetime1 Thu May 09, 2013 06:42pm

Ball in hat
 
Outfielder attempting to make a running catch. He takes his hat off and holds it in his non glove hand. The ball bounces out of his glove and he catches it in his hat before it hits the ground. What is the call?

UMP25 Thu May 09, 2013 07:44pm

There's no need for him to take his cap off. This should be ruled a detached gear award. All runners, including the B-R, are awarded 3 bases from the time the ball contacted the hat.

Rita C Thu May 09, 2013 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25 (Post 893463)
There's no need for him to take his cap off. This should be ruled a detached gear award. All runners, including the B-R, are awarded 3 bases from the time the ball contacted the hat.

And that's a live ball award.

Rita

onetime1 Fri May 10, 2013 11:49am

There is no need to take his hat off but he did. There was no need for Custer to split his troops at Little Big Horn either but he did. Shouldnt have done that.

bob jenkins Sun May 12, 2013 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 893547)
There is no need to take his hat off but he did. There was no need for Custer to split his troops at Little Big Horn either but he did. Shouldnt have done that.

I'm not quite sure what this response has to do with your question.

You got the correct rules (and game) answer.

It's possible to have a ball hit a detached hat and it not be an award, but your play isn't it.

JJ Mon May 13, 2013 06:22pm

What if the fielder catches the ball in his glove, and then voluntarily releases (drops) it into his cap? 3rd world play? Yes, but...answer please? Would that now be considered a "thrown" ball/detached equipment situation?

JJ

bob jenkins Tue May 14, 2013 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 894006)
What if the fielder catches the ball in his glove, and then voluntarily releases (drops) it into his cap? 3rd world play? Yes, but...answer please? Would that now be considered a "thrown" ball/detached equipment situation?

JJ

Drops the ball into the cap? Detached -- two bases.

Drops the glove into the cap? I'd be laughing too hard to make any ruling.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1