![]() |
Could very easily have been judged to be RLI -- and I'd suspect we'll see it at next year's pre-season meetings
|
Quote:
So, where you say... Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
But to answer - very close to the former. The latter is absurd in context of the rule as written and enforced. But I do know in advance that you won't believe that statement coming from me. |
This is SEC right - big time D1 NCAA. Not some LL minors team from Scrubville.
If I read this right the catcher double-clutched, couldn't find a lane, and then F3 had the ball hit him in the glove and he dropped it. I might ask for a call just to see if I could get it but we'd be running the drill a whole bunch of times next practice because I know who really screwed up. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Otherwise, that's what freshmen are for. ;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Sometimes there is fine line between OOO a play and having the balls to make a tough call. |
The double clutch is irrelevant. You come to the same conclusion as dash with the call, but how you got there involves too much.
This was harped on for probably 10+ minutes at the NCAA meetings in Chicago. I can still hear Jim Paronto overly enunciating everything about this. |
double clutch
Quote:
|
Here's what I saw:
The PU never bothered to get into any sort of position to look for a running lane violation (his next responsibility, after the force out). Yeah, he needed to still be behind the dish, as there was a runner coming toward third, but he needed to move to his left, and look down the barrel at first, IMO. U1 stuck his left hand out, for some reason, as the ball got away. The ball, the runner and F3 mitt all came together right at the bag. Hard to call any sort violation there. If the runner had been in the lane the entire time, then moved over to hit the bag, again IMO, you'd have the same situation. It was really a "blink of an eye" situation, with no clear call to be made. Even slowed down, it was tough to make a judgement. |
Crazy thing...
Watched the replay of the game yesterday on ESPNU. BR was out of the lane but as most have said it happened right at the bag. Mainly because of the double clutch gave BR time to make it there. Couldn't tell if maybe he had no one to throw it to, if it got stuck in the glove or what. But anyway, I see where a RLV could have been called here. But IMO, It should have been called after the double clutch, as the ball was being released, and before it got to the bag.
Well, I have a FED V game yesterday, I got the dish. Wouldn't you know it. Bases loaded, 1 out, Same EXACT play happens! I mean EXACTLY! (Except F5 fielded it coming toward the mound). Throw to the plate, out on the force, steps inside, throws to 1st where F3 is set up inside, hits runner on the right shoulder (outside) who is now just inside on his last stride to the bag. I had nothing! AND, not one complaint. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25am. |