The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Runner dives over catcher on tag play (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/94894-runner-dives-over-catcher-tag-play.html)

UMP45 Sun Apr 28, 2013 07:14pm

It's almost like he was tripped.

jicecone Sun Apr 28, 2013 08:46pm

Looking over the video several times, I can say for sure that the view from 1BX was definitly different than the view would have been from 3BX.

johnnyg08 Mon Apr 29, 2013 01:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 892335)
Looking over the video several times, I can say for sure that the view from 1BX was definitly different than the view would have been from 3BX.

He shouldn't have been 1BLX, BU w/ R2 was working B on a batted ball that nearly hits R2.

Not a lot of great things there.

Rich Mon Apr 29, 2013 02:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 892345)
He shouldn't have been 1BLX, BU w/ R2 was working B on a batted ball that nearly hits R2.

Not a lot of great things there.

OP says partners.

So probably 3-man. B is correct for U1 in a 3-man with 1 out and R2+R3.

bob jenkins Mon Apr 29, 2013 07:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 892350)
OP says partners.

So probably 3-man. B is correct for U1 in a 3-man with 1 out and R2+R3.

Not to mention that BU's position (whether right or wrong) has nothing to do with PU's positioning on a play at the plate.

Now, on a ball to the infield and then directly back to the plate, PU should (generally) step straight back from the point of the plate -- too many default to going to 1BX immediately. Where he ended up, though, was probably a better view of the tag attempt than from 3BX (ignoring the diving here).

HoopsRefJunior Mon Apr 29, 2013 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 892360)
Not to mention that BU's position (whether right or wrong) has nothing to do with PU's positioning on a play at the plate.

Now, on a ball to the infield and then directly back to the plate, PU should (generally) step straight back from the point of the plate -- too many default to going to 1BX immediately. Where he ended up, though, was probably a better view of the tag attempt than from 3BX (ignoring the diving here).

It was a 3-man crew.

I'm amazed at those who say they would also ignore this.

Another photo sequence --- Scout.com: Umpire in Cass/NW Whitfield game didn't know the rule

BretMan Mon Apr 29, 2013 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HoopsRefJunior (Post 892414)
I'm amazed at those who say they would also ignore this.

So, Hoops Ref Junior, are you a hoops ref? If so, have you ever had to use your judgment to make a call. Did your judgment always match your partners, the coaches, players and fans?

No one here is going to dispute the rule. But if all I have to go by are those pictures, I'm not sure if I'm convinced that the runner dove over the catcher. It looks to me like maybe the runner was upended by the catcher. That is there was no intentional diving action on the runner's part. The catcher moved into him, took out his legs and the runner just happened to land the way he landed.

Maybe. I don't know. I would defer to the judgment of the officials who were actually there and actually observed the play.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 29, 2013 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 892416)
So, Hoops Ref Junior, are you a hoops ref? If so, have you ever had to use your judgment to make a call. Did your judgment always match your partners, the coaches, players and fans?

No one here is going to dispute the rule. But if all I have to go by are those pictures, I'm not sure if I'm convinced that the runner dove over the catcher. It looks to me like maybe the runner was upended by the catcher. That is there was no intentional diving action on the runner's part. The catcher moved into him, took out his legs and the runner just happened to land the way he landed.

Maybe. I don't know. I would defer to the judgment of the officials who were actually there and actually observed the play.

I agree with this 100%.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 29, 2013 03:59pm

A series of still photographs makes this extremely difficult to determine. But for me to call this definitively, I need to see some sort of verticality achieved. Pick a part of his body and look at successive photos. His head definitely never rises. Nor his shoulders. Torso remains flat for a time, then down. Waist, even, doesn't appear to go up from photo to photo. And by the feet/legs start rising, there's no question in my mind that he's already been contacted by the rising catcher.

I don't think this player jumped or dove over the catcher any more than he simply tried to stop his momentum (his legs DO stop for about 3 frames) and was falling forward when his legs were forced up by the catcher.

Not saying I would fault an umpire who DID call him out in this sequence - just saying the evidence we're being shown doesn't really prove anything in either direction.

Adam Mon Apr 29, 2013 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bretman (Post 892416)

maybe. I don't know. I would defer to the judgment of the officials who were actually there and actually observed the play.

+1

Manny A Mon Apr 29, 2013 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HoopsRefJunior (Post 892414)
I'm amazed at those who say they would also ignore this.

I didn't read where anybody agreed that the runner dove over the catcher, and that they would ignore the infraction. Those who disagree with you basically judged that something else caused the runner to appear to have dived, whether it was the catcher hitting the runner's legs with his shoulders or the runner's inability to stop his momentum.

Like others, I have a hard time discerning what exactly took place from low def videos and grainy stills that appear to be taken from 30 to 50 feet away through a net or chain link fence. Just looking at the latest photos you posted, it's impossible to tell in the second picture if the catcher's right shoulder contacts the runner's leg.

dash_riprock Mon Apr 29, 2013 05:55pm

If you judge the runner was tripped (rather than dove), that's fine, but in any event, the runner was out.

jicecone Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 892439)
if you judge the runner was tripped (rather than dove), that's fine, but in any event, the runner was out.

+1

thumpferee Tue Apr 30, 2013 08:46am

IMO I would rather have seen this kid avoid the catcher, due to an errant throw, by leaning over him, rather than what could have happened! You know, the start of a head first dive into the catcher due to the throw, major collision! Then what? Judgement on that play too.

I must admit, when I first saw the video, I had him out on the dive 100%
After watching it ten times I wasn't too sure. I don't think the intent of the rule was MEANT to be violated here, but we can't have these kids making highlight reals.

Manny A Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 892439)
If you judge the runner was tripped (rather than dove), that's fine, but in any event, the runner was out.

Based upon what? Are you suggesting his trip would still be a violation of 8-4-2d?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1