![]() |
Passed Runner
ML Rules
Bases loaded, one out. Batter hits soft liner to RF who traps ball, R3 easily scores, but R2 thinking ball was caught retreats to his original bases and R1 confused stops a few feet short of 2B and starts to go back to 1B. Defence now throws to 3B for the force out. After force out at 3B, BR passes the retreating R1 between 1B and 2B and is called out. There is a throw made to 2B for the force there, but it is after BR has been called out for the third out. Does the run count? |
Once BR is called out, the force is removed. Therefore, the throw to 2B wouldn't be a force out anyway. Not that it matters, the passing would be the third out.
Run scores. |
Quote:
The out on the B-R was the third out. There is no possible 4th out force play appeal now because the force was removed. The run counts. |
Quote:
He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. However, if a following runner is put out on a force play, the force is removed and the runner must be tagged to be put out. Technically the batter was not out on a force play. |
Quote:
Look at it in this situation: R1. Fly ball to R9, who traps it. BR touches first and turns toward second; R1 isn't sure if the ball is caught and stops halfway between 1B and 2B. F9 throws to F3, who tags BR off the base. At this point, is the force still in effect? No, because the previous runner (the BR here) being put out removed the force. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
As is, they still get the run, but now there are three outs. |
Quote:
If they get the forces at both 3B and 2B no runs would have scored. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Nolan Ryan had a no-hitter saved once by a "soft liner" to right field. R1 didn't know if it would be caught and hesitated. When it wasn't caught, F9 threw to second base, forcing R1. No hit. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And if you want to get really technical the batter can never be put out on a force play. The "normal" play on the batter at 1B while seemingly a force, is not a force because the batter does the forcing, he isn't himself forced. See 2.00 Force Play. That's why there are separate exceptions in 4.09(a ). |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34pm. |