![]() |
I know I am jumping into this debate kind of late, but I would like to relay a play that MTD, Jr., had last May. The game was the freshmen championship game of the league that consists of most of the largest high schools in NW Ohio.
Junior was on the bases. Bottom of the seventh inning, one out, runner on third base, and the scored tied. Junior was in the C position. The Pitcher assumed the Windup Position. As the Pitcher started his pitching motion his coach yelled for him to stop and pitch from the Set Position. The Pitcher stopped his motion for a full second and Mark balked in the winning run. Why? The Pitcher committed an illegal act, i.e., an illegal pitch, which is a balk when runners are on base. If the Pitcher had done the same thing with no one on base, it would still be an illegal pitch, for which the penalty is a ball awarded to the batter. MTD. Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I always thought that including the no-pitch as an illegal pitch was an unintended over-sight because I've never seen it called and had been told to leave it alone. Re-calculating. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Never heard a coach ask for a call on this type of play... so we just play on. Might be different in other areas of country. Thanks David |
Quote:
|
[QUOTE]
Quote:
You want to be conistent with these types of rules. You do not want one crew calling it a balk and another crew says "it's nothin" This is similar to the no shoulder turn (check a runner) that at one time was a balk in FED. In some associations this was ignored completely meaning they went with the OBR interp. I believe SC still uses the old appeal rule meaning there is not any appeal the umpires call the infraction. In summary, if your association says "it's nothin" then call it that way. Pete Booth |
[QUOTE=PeteBooth;874380]
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26am. |