jicecone |
Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:37pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by maven
(Post 871392)
That's just wrong. Here's the complete sentence from 6-1-3, which defines the set:
"Before starting his delivery, he shall stand with his entire nonpivot
foot in front of a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher’s plate
and with his entire pivot foot in contact with or directly in front of the pitcher’s
plate."
So his entire pivot foot must be either in contact with or directly in front of the rubber. The "hybrid stance" image posted above is legal: the entire pivot foot is either in contact with or directly in front of the rubber.
The purpose of the provision is to keep F1 on the rubber: it is NOT legal to have just the toes or just the heel directly in front of the rubber, with the rest of the foot extending beyond the side edge. That lets F1 pitch at an angle, which is a significant advantage.
Nobody in NC or any other state will ever see F1's foot closely enough to enforce that interpretation of the rule. And the problem with the hybrid stance in any case is that pitchers wind up from it, not that they use it in the set.
|
No, the hybrid stance in the picture is illegal because, the entire pivot foot is in contact with and directly in front of the rubber.
The rule says "either", "or".
And if the pitchers windup from it, then it is again illegal because, "the pitcher's non-pivot foot shall be in any position on or behind a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher's plate."
So, just like the balk discussion, do we tell the pitcher "son you need to come to a good set/stop" or do we call a balk???????
Remember , the coaches expect Consistancy not only in the Strike Zone but the rule interpretations also.
You have to decide what you need to do!!
|