The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Infield Fly in Wild Card Game (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/92575-infield-fly-wild-card-game.html)

maven Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 857399)
If the 2nd baseman is "playing in shallow right field", he's not an infielder for the purposes of this rule in my opinion. Your opinions may vary.

That's consistent with pro instruction. It does not, however, apply to the play in the OP, as F6 started in his customary position in the infield.

rbmartin Mon Oct 08, 2012 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 857409)
That's consistent with pro instruction. It does not, however, apply to the play in the OP, as F6 started in his customary position in the infield.

My latest post was in response to the scenario presented by voiceoflg . As I implied earlier, in the play in STL vs ATL, the shortstop was a legitimate infielder and all other elements were present to declare an infield fly. I have no problem with the call as made in STL vs ATL.

JRutledge Mon Oct 08, 2012 01:51pm

I finally saw the actual play and I have no problem with the call. It fits all the rule requirements that I am aware of. I guess I could understanding not calling this too, but then I would see people suggesting that someone was thrown out at 3rd or second as being unfair too.

Peace

MD Longhorn Mon Oct 08, 2012 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 857444)
I finally saw the actual play and I have no problem with the call. It fits all the rule requirements that I am aware of. I guess I could understanding not calling this too, but then I would see people suggesting that someone was thrown out at 3rd or second as being unfair too.

Peace

If it was deep enough that they could only throw someone out at 3rd if it dropped, then it shouldn't draw any ire or be called unfair either - as either way (IFF or not IFF), it's just one out.

I think I'd have called it IFF, after watching F6. But I would not fault a no-call here either.

rbmartin Mon Oct 08, 2012 03:23pm

The infield fly is possibly the most misunderstood (by fans and coaches)call (umpires typically make. And it comes from all sides.
Last year alone I had :
1)A defensive coach complain that I didn’t call it. (he wanted me to bail out his incompetent defense.)
2)An offensive coach complain that I did call it.
3) An offensive coach complain that I didn’t call it on a bunt attempt.
4 )A defensive coach complain that “Infield fly, batters out if fair!” confused his 3rd baseman causing him to let a popup fall foul.
5) Fans complain and murmur nearly everytime I call it.

Steve Meyer Mon Oct 08, 2012 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carl Childress (Post 857275)
The umpire saw this: The infielder drifted back, turned to face the infield, did the sweep (Stay away !) signal. That's when the umpire must decide.

Now, those runners are not running. The fielder was perhaps 60 feet from third base. Are you trying to say that a runner can get from second to third before a ball thrown by a professional can trevel 60 feet?

I agree if it had been high school, perhaps even college, that would probably not have been called. But this was a big league call for a big league game.

Holbrooke waited until the ball was less than a split second from hitting the ground before he called the IFF. What were the other five umpires looking at, and/or waiting for? This was the first time I've ever seen an infield fly called this deep, and I hope it is the last.

GA Umpire Mon Oct 08, 2012 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve Meyer (Post 857480)
Holbrooke waited until the ball was less than a split second from hitting the ground before he called the IFF. What were the other five umpires looking at, and/or waiting for? This was the first time I've ever seen an infield fly called this deep, and I hope it is the last.

The other 5 waited to see the one whose responsibility to call that area make a call. He waited until ALL criteria was met for the IFR to be in effect. Until then, nothing to call. It was on time and appropriate. All criteria was met, both "technically" and "spiritually".

Steve Meyer Tue Oct 09, 2012 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 857501)
The other 5 waited to see the one whose responsibility to call that area make a call. He waited until ALL criteria was met for the IFR to be in effect. Until then, nothing to call. It was on time and appropriate. All criteria was met, both "technically" and "spiritually".

Okay, call it when the infielder was camped under the ball. Not when the F6 moves away, and the outfielder isn't even close............Holbrook blew it, plain and simple.

JJ Tue Oct 09, 2012 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve Meyer (Post 857609)
Okay, call it when the infielder was camped under the ball. Not when the F6 moves away, and the outfielder isn't even close............Holbrook blew it, plain and simple.

Hmmm....he WAS camped under the ball.

JJ

youngump Tue Oct 09, 2012 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 857620)
Hmmm....he WAS camped under the ball.

JJ

Who was camped under the ball? F6 didn't ever make it out to where the ball landed. That's what the not ordinary effort camps whole point is. At least as I understand it. He didn't have time to check his F7 and get under the ball.

Manny A Tue Oct 09, 2012 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve Meyer (Post 857609)
Okay, call it when the infielder was camped under the ball...

I'm sure he tried to. The problem was, as soon as it appeared F6 was under the ball, he immediately bailed.

GA Umpire Tue Oct 09, 2012 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve Meyer (Post 857609)
Okay, call it when the infielder was camped under the ball. Not when the F6 moves away, and the outfielder isn't even close............Holbrook blew it, plain and simple.

As soon as F6 was slowly stepping back and calling for it, that is ordinary effort. Oh look, it doesn't say he has to be "camped" under the ball or stationary. He just has to show ordinary effort to get to the fly ball. Holbrook called it according to the rules, plain and simple.

nopachunts Tue Oct 09, 2012 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve Meyer (Post 857609)
Okay, call it when the infielder was camped under the ball. Not when the F6 moves away, and the outfielder isn't even close............Holbrook blew it, plain and simple.

And the SS waved his arms signaling to his teammates that I have the ball. Correct and good call. If the SS had done his job and caught the ball, this discussion, the one on the softball board, and the one on umpire.org would not be taking place.

102 responses is enough, I think this horse is dead already.

Steve Meyer Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 857625)
As soon as F6 was slowly stepping back and calling for it, that is ordinary effort. Oh look, it doesn't say he has to be "camped" under the ball or stationary. He just has to show ordinary effort to get to the fly ball. Holbrook called it according to the rules, plain and simple.

(edit)

If you still think he was protecting the offense, both runners moved up very easily after the ball struck the ground.

johnnyg08 Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:04pm

Good thread. I think it has run its course.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1