![]() |
|
|
|||
Depends on the rule set that the game is being contested pursuant to.
Under the major league interpretation (MLB Umpire’s manual 5.10), the runner is awarded home but is liable to be put out on appeal (for failing to retouch). However, he CAN return to first to legally retouch (as long as he returns and retouches before continuing on to touch third base after the ball became dead ). If he does return to retouch first base, the umpire shall change his award to third base. This prevents “tipping off” the defense. |
|
|||
Here is an excerpt from my umpire's association umpires manual which I wrote:
Example: R1, no out, hit-and-run. Fly ball to F9. R1 doesn’t pick up the ball off the bat and takes off for third base. F9’s throw to F3 to double-off R1 is wild and goes into the dugout. R1 who is between second and third when the ball goes into dead ball territory, cannot return to legally retouch first base (under high school rules). Ruling: Under high school rules R1 is awarded two bases from the time of the pitch, so he gets third base. He is subject to being called out on appeal as he is not allowed to retouch first base. Under the major league interpretation (MLB Umpire’s manual 5.10), the runner is awarded home but is liable to be put out on appeal. However, he CAN return to first to legally re-touch first base if he does so properly. If he does, the umpire shall change his award to third base. This prevents “tipping off” the defense. In South Carolina high school games, at the end of the play you will, on your own, call the runner out for leaving early (because we have no appeal rule in South Carolina). So this whole example is moot for high school purposes in South Carolina. For American Legion games use the major league interpretation. (For High School see 2003 case book 8.2.5 situation, pg. 56 and 2003 Rulebook Rule 8-3-5, pg. 53 for how I came up with this example) |
|
|||
There is something missing from JR's play, and a significant difference between his play and lawump's.
JR's play says the runner was between 2nd and 3rd when the ball was THROWN. Lawumps says he was there when the ball went out of play. His location when the ball was THROWN matters only with respect to what the award is. His location when the ball went out of play is missing from JR's play - but is critical in that it determines whether he can or cannot return all the way to first (legally). If he's returning, and has already retouched 2nd before the ball actually makes it out of play, he CAN retouch first base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
awarding bases | ump50 | Baseball | 6 | Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:41am |
Awarding Bases | rottiron01 | Softball | 14 | Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:29pm |
Awarding bases | ump66 | Baseball | 8 | Mon Apr 23, 2007 07:39am |
Awarding of Bases | brumey1107 | Baseball | 3 | Mon Jun 09, 2003 02:06pm |
Awarding of Bases | STEVED21 | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jul 09, 2002 10:50am |