![]() |
MLB: Beckham tag play on DeJesus
Anyone see this play at 2b that occurred in Gm 1 of the ChiSox/Cubs interleague game?
DeJesus gaps a ball to LC, OFer comes up throwing to 2b where the SS, Beckham, takes the throw and runs to the bag reaching glove first for the tag on sliding DeJesus. DeJesus beats the tag with a feet first slide, but as DeJesus pops up from slide, Beckham's momentum carries him into DeJesus and full body contact occurs knocking DeJesus off the bag. Beckham reaches back and applies a tag for the out. Not a play I've seen much, if at all. Anything "wrong" with the play? Is it ok per rule? Cubs manager argues and is subsequently sent packing. Has this play been discussed here? MLB.com Gameday | MLB.com: Gameday |
I happened to be watching this play in a restaurant. I actually had no problem with the call as both players did what they were supposed to in trying to make the play. Again I do not know the OBR rules directly, but in NCAA and NF I would call the same based on what I currently know.
Peace |
Beckham defiantly knocked DeJesus off the base.
|
Not sure of Foster's rationale for that call, but that runner's not out in my game. The runner had a good slide and would have held the bag.
|
Hrbek/Gant
|
Quote:
|
Out. At that level.
|
Article and video
|
Quote:
|
As I saw it, the play wasn't over yet, continuing action caused the runner to lose contact with the base, while a tag was still applied. I have an out. It's not like the runner was standing on the base and was pushed off the base and then tagged out.
|
I'm going with safe. Obviously the fielder did not intentionally push the runner off the bag. But if out is the proper call, doesn't it encourage fielders to use this tactic in the future?
|
Quote:
I'm killing it and keeping the runner at 2nd. If the coach comes out and wants rule support for my not calling the runner out, I'm going to tell him quietly that if he forces me to do that, it can only be type A obstruction and the runner will get 3rd (which he cannot protest). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
To extend this to an obstruction ruling is a stretch. |
By definition, it can't be obstruction if the fielder has possession of the ball.
JM |
Quote:
I suppose you'll say that he was tagged while off his base. :( |
Quote:
F1 has fielded a bunt near the first base line, as he trips and falls, with the ball securely in his glove, he reaches out with the hand closer to the B/R and grabs an ankle, tripping him, he then tags him. Ruling: Obstruction |
Quote:
The runner did not yet have possession of his base, he had merely touched it. Similar to a runner at first not having his balance on pick-off attempt to the point the tag knocks him off. The fielder did not exert exceptional force to knock him off second. They were both doing their job and experienced incidental contact. While losing contact with second, the runner was tagged. This is roughly the way such a play is explained at proschool, or at least was a little over ten years ago. BTW, why the sad face? I don't remember ever having issues with you before. |
Not a chance I have an out on this. While the contact was accidental, it wasn't incidental. F4 knocked the runner off the base. Like was mentioned earlier, I think calling this an out just invites the defense to charge hard on a close tag play and just play through the runner. The runner is going to be knocked off the base the vast majority of the time. Bad precedent to set.
Then again, I'm not working in the big leagues, so YMMV. |
Quote:
If you rule the contact incidental, then I'd agree that the out would stand. But in my judgment, the runner was moving TOWARD the base, and the force of the collision drove him AWAY from the base. That's not loss of balance. To me, that's different from a runner being off balance and the normal force of a tag making him lose contact with the base. No problem getting the out on that play. What's odd here is the lack of rules support. Even for the play where a fielder walks up and INTENTIONALLY shoves a runner off his base — a runner just standing there — there's no rules support for nullifying the out. You could call it unsportsmanlike, but then somebody has to be ejected (and in the meantime there's STILL no rule permitting you to nullify the out). |
Quote:
He is then knocked off with what instructors would call playing action, not an intentional shove or even an extra hard tag. There may no be word for word description of this in the rules, but there is plenty of accepted precedence. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
2) the thing that knocked him off the bag was the body block that looked more at home in a hockey or football game than in the game of baseball. If the tag had knocked him off the base, I would agree with the out call. What's to stop all fielders from diving into runners after they're already called safe, just to get a cheap, undeserved out. This practice needs to be reevaluated, IMO. |
Quote:
"Cross body block"? No. The fielder fell while making a normal baseball move. He did not throw a block. Runner is out at MLB level. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you want to see this as a deliberate dive into the runner, have it. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Given the call on the field, you're obviously correct that this is how MLB calls this play. And ordinarily, I favor the defense. But it seems manifestly unfair to make the runner pay for this collision. On the other hand, how many times do we see an incidental collision (esp. at the plate) and the ball pops out, runner safe? So maybe we go with this. :shrug: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
However, taking this to OBS is just wrong. For many reasons - the most obvious of which being that the fielder had possession of the ball. |
Quote:
|
How can anyone - even the calling umpire - justify calling this runner out?
My, oh my! JJ |
Quote:
|
Three pages deep, and the best we can come up with is opinions - good ones at that - but opinions, just the same. No supporting rules or case studies. I guess the situation is one of those that is right in the middle of a gray area.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
This play seems a reversal of fortunes compared to crashes at the plate. I feel that if your game allows crashes at the plate, unless there is a written directive to the contrary, this crash at 2nd is "okay" and the out is righteous. In the games I (and most on this board) work, I think the call should be safe. No way do I want to open the Pandora's box of allowing fielders to crash the runner in an attempt to knock him off the base, whether intentional or not.
On a separate line of thinking, at what point do you consider MC (in FED of course) on the part of the fielder? |
Quote:
|
SDS - I agree with you. I was trying to divine why this would be acceptable in MLB. I was not very clear as I opened my reply. By allowing the out, it broadens the job of the fielder. The whole play smells. The defense did not execute in order to earn the out. This is not like the Hrbek play
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Most seem to think so. I didn't think it should have been an out. He hauled Gant's leg off the base IMHO. |
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4VKXIdYHkj4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As a biased Braves fan, naturally I didn't see it that way. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21pm. |