![]() |
Unsportsmanlike Conduct?
NFHS game: Bases loaded bottom of the seventh, two outs and the home team trails by three. Batter hits walkoff HR, as he is running the bases BR is shooting birds at the visitor players and fans as he rounds the bases. At what point do you penalize for USC and how is penalty administered? How many runs are counted? Does this still end the game?
|
On the next page of the rule for unsportsmanlike conduct, it says at the end of playing action. It also says you can go with a warning or ejection. So in either case, the book says nothing about calling out, or not counting runs for this action.
Unless this was so terribly bad that the other team reacted, I probably would have watched the HR hitter touch the plate and left. Had to be there to say if I would have ejected. But, that is about you can do, besides read the book closer. |
I believe UC is a warning AFTER playing action has stopped.
I would have have given him a warning as he was running the bases, "hey, cut that crap out and enjoy the moment"! Ball game! |
In a game I'm working, the batter has earned himself a post-game ejection. I would probably signal the ejection while he's still running the bases with the intention of preventing the other team from boiling over. I have a very hard time ignoring this or letting it go with a warning.
jicecone is correct in that there is no further penalty in this situation so the BR would never be called out. |
Usc / mc ?
Same situation but as BR rounds first he throws an elbow into the first baseman?
|
Quote:
|
This kid gets tossed the second he crosses the plate. 100% of the time.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
3.3.1 SITUATION X: With two outs and the bases loaded, B6 hits a home run out of the park. R3 maliciously runs over (a) F4 before touching second base or (b) F5 before touching third. RULING: In both (a) and (b), R3 is declared out and ejected. In (a), the third out is a force, so no runs score. In (b), the third out was not a force play, so runners who have touched the plate prior to the infraction would score. Please note that in awarded situations it is not the base that is awarded, but rather the right to advance and legally touch a base with no play being made. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43pm. |