The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Illegal Pitch/Balk Clarification (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/90891-illegal-pitch-balk-clarification.html)

peewee Sun Apr 29, 2012 09:54pm

Illegal Pitch/Balk Clarification
 
Little League Rules:

Rule 8.05 clearily states that an illegal pitch/balk requires a runner or runners to be on base. What about when there are no runners on base?

rbmartin Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:01pm

8.01(d) If the pitcher makes an illegal pitch with the bases unoccupied, it shall be called a ball unless the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise. A ball which slips out of a pitcher's hand and crosses the foul line shall be called a ball; otherwise it will be called no pitch. This would be a balk with men on base.

peewee Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:12pm

Thanks

Now the second question.

It pertains to rule 4.06. Had a situation where the defense's manager was yelling at the left fielder to move into position and caused his own pitcher to stop his windup. If I am reading the rule correctly, this would neither be an illegal pitch or balk.

Rich Ives Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by peewee (Post 839490)
Little League Rules:

Rule 8.05 clearily states that an illegal pitch/balk requires a runner or runners to be on base. What about when there are no runners on base?


rb didn't read far eenough into the RIM (LL Rules Instruction Manual)

It's nothing because the requirement that there be runners on hasn't been met.

The illegal pitch mentioned in 8.01(d) is the 2.00 definition - a quick pitch or a pitch while not in contact. (e and g in 8.05)

Per the RIM

INSTRUCTORS COMMENTS: MAJORS/MINOR With no runners on base you only call an illegal pitch if (e) and/or (g) are committed. Otherwise, call nothing with no runners on base at any level of play.

Rich Ives Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by peewee (Post 839493)
Thanks

Now the second question.

It pertains to rule 4.06. Had a situation where the defense's manager was yelling at the left fielder to move into position and caused his own pitcher to stop his windup. If I am reading the rule correctly, this would neither be an illegal pitch or balk.

Yes - but only if there are runners on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1