The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Base on Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/90718-base-ball.html)

peewee Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:44pm

Base on Ball
 
Little League Minors division. Runner on 2nd.

If the batter takes ball four, can the runner on 2nd steal 3rd? Does it matter if the catcher catches ball four or if it is a pass ball?

Thanks

ozzy6900 Sun Apr 22, 2012 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by peewee (Post 838362)
Little League Minors division. Runner on 2nd.

If the batter takes ball four, can the runner on 2nd steal 3rd? Does it matter if the catcher catches ball four or if it is a pass ball?

Thanks

Answer your own question...
  • is the ball dead on ball 4?
  • If the ball is live, can't runners steal?
Sometimes, it's just that easy!!!

RPatrino Sun Apr 22, 2012 02:15pm

Paraphrasing Ozzie:

1) no
2) yes

smithma Sun Apr 22, 2012 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino (Post 838375)
Paraphrasing Ozzie:

1) no
2) yes

Bob;

I hope your answers are to Ozzie's questions and not the OP questions. :D

RPatrino Sun Apr 22, 2012 05:00pm

Well of course....NO soup for YOU....LOL

peewee Sun Apr 22, 2012 06:44pm

Base on Balls
 
Can some one tell me which rule applies to a caught ball 4 being a dead ball and a pass ball 4 being a live ball? I called the runner back to 2nd base because it was a caught ball 4. I would like to know where the rule is in case I am challenged in the future. I have been looking for two days but can't find anything in the 2012 Little League rule book.

Thank you.

RPatrino Sun Apr 22, 2012 06:54pm

As far as I can remember, there is NO rule making the ball dead on a base on balls. Your search is futile. Unless in your league, there is a local 'house' rule that does not allow stealing on a base on balls.

peewee Sun Apr 22, 2012 07:02pm

That would make sense then. Send the runner as the Batter-runner (right handed) crosses home plate to run to first. This would temporarily obstruct the view or distract the catcher from throwing him out at 3rd.

RPatrino Sun Apr 22, 2012 08:31pm

Pee Wee, if the batter/runner interferes with the catchers throw to 3rd, then that is illegal.

Is this the case in this situation?

DG Sun Apr 22, 2012 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino (Post 838412)
Pee Wee, if the batter/runner interferes with the catchers throw to 3rd, then that is illegal.

It would be a tough call to make since BR is headed toward 1b, and F2 should be throwing behind where he was.

Rich Ives Sun Apr 22, 2012 09:51pm

PeeWee's really new at this. Don't confuse him. Stick to the basic question.

BestUmp Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by peewee (Post 838398)
That would make sense then. Send the runner as the Batter-runner (right handed) crosses home plate to run to first. This would temporarily obstruct the view or distract the catcher from throwing him out at 3rd.

I would have thought that regardless of what the Batter did to the Catcher, F2 should be able to make the play @ 3rd on the B-R. :eek:

He could drag himself on the ground if need be.

Do they still pay LL umpires under the table? :p

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 23, 2012 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by peewee (Post 838395)
Can some one tell me which rule applies to a caught ball 4 being a dead ball and a pass ball 4 being a live ball? I called the runner back to 2nd base because it was a caught ball 4. I would like to know where the rule is in case I am challenged in the future. I have been looking for two days but can't find anything in the 2012 Little League rule book.

Thank you.

The reason you can't find the rule after 2 days of searching is that it is not a rule. You've invented it. CERTAINLY they can steal on ball 4 (caught or dropped is completely immaterial to every possible situation, at every age group, in every rule set). You should have been challenged at the time, and if you make this mistake again, I do hope you're challenged on it in the future.

BestUmp Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 838476)
No. Just say ball (or ball four if you feel the need). Don't signal.

"That {sir or madam as appropriate} is a ball and it is the fourth one during this time or bat" may be conclusive but I strongly suggest this wordy phrasing to be inappropriate. ;)

SanDiegoSteve Mon Apr 23, 2012 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 838476)
No. Just say ball (or ball four if you feel the need). Don't signal.

I think he means the coach sends the runner at the same time the BR is crossing the plate, blocking the catcher's vision. He's not talking about him sending anybody.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1