The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   "Dislodged" or not (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/90279-dislodged-not.html)

bigda65 Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:51am

"Dislodged" or not
 
NFHS,

R1, ball hit to F5, boots, but finally throws to F4 who drops the ball.
R1 has slid well past 2nd, but on his way by, grabs the base and it comes up from the square mounting hole. The base is still in the mounting hole and is leaning slightly toward left field. (the base is still in the area of where it should be, it is just not flush with the ground) F4 picks up the ball and tags the runner before he gets back to the bag.

U1 calls R1 out on the tag. PU and U1 confer, U1 reverses call and puts R1 back on 2nd. No real argument either way and game continues.

Would the base be considered dislodged in this sitch??

ozzy6900 Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:00am

If the base is still in the mounting hole, I would not rule as a dislodged base. The actual base is still in the area unlike if the base were sitting 3 feet away.

mbyron Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:15am

Even if it's dislodged he's out.

dash_riprock Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:15am

That's an out.

Rich Ives Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 834652)
Even if it's dislodged he's out.

OMG - another FED different call.

In FED the runner can't be tagged if the base slides away from him.

In OBR and NCAA the runner cannot be played on if he is touching the spot where the base bag should be.

Which makes more sense?


LL lets the runner chase the base too - makes sense at the lower levels.

MD Longhorn Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigda65 (Post 834648)
NFHS,

R1, ball hit to F5, boots, but finally throws to F4 who drops the ball.
R1 has slid well past 2nd, but on his way by, grabs the base and it comes up from the square mounting hole. The base is still in the mounting hole and is leaning slightly toward left field. (the base is still in the area of where it should be, it is just not flush with the ground) F4 picks up the ball and tags the runner before he gets back to the bag.

U1 calls R1 out on the tag. PU and U1 confer, U1 reverses call and puts R1 back on 2nd. No real argument either way and game continues.

Would the base be considered dislodged in this sitch??

I would not.

bigda65 Wed Mar 28, 2012 12:25pm

PU told BU that you can't have an out when the base is dislodged.

So I guess it boils down to your interp of dislodged in FED.

dash_riprock Wed Mar 28, 2012 01:02pm

Rich quoted the FED Rule. The base did not slide away from the runner. He's out.

jicecone Wed Mar 28, 2012 04:44pm

"F4 picks up the ball and tags the runner before he gets back to the bag.

He's out!!!

dileonardoja Wed Mar 28, 2012 05:09pm

R1 Over slid the base. Dislodging, if anything helped him hold on longer! He is OUT


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1