The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Jump-Step to 2nd Base (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/9020-jump-step-2nd-base.html)

mach3 Tue Jun 17, 2003 02:15am

Hi,

I know it is an old discussion but it came up in my association again.

Sit.: R2.
Pitcher does Jump-Step Pick-off to second base.

Now people come up and argue that RHP can only do that to fist base and LHP to third.
I say, in OBR it is nowhere mentioned, that he can only do that to fist base. If we say, the jump-step is a direkt step to first/third base, than why should it not be a direct step to second, since the movement is about the same.
They say PBUC limit this move to first (third) base, but I cannot find it there.
I showed them J/R who does not have any reference to any base in it, but it wasn't enough for them.

Am I wrong? If not, what else can I tell them to be convincing?

thanks

Raoul

JRutledge Tue Jun 17, 2003 02:51am

I need something to be clear.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mach3
Hi,

I know it is an old discussion but it came up in my association again.

Sit.: R2.
Pitcher does Jump-Step Pick-off to second base.

Now people come up and argue that RHP can only do that to fist base and LHP to third.

Are you suggesting that a Jump-Step might be illegal with a throw? Not saying you believe that, but is this is what people have told you?

Peace

mach3 Tue Jun 17, 2003 04:10am

I am saying it is legal and I have to convince other collegues from my association of that, since they believe it is not-legal and therefor a balk!

Raoul

JRutledge Tue Jun 17, 2003 01:02pm

I will use FED Rules here.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mach3
I am saying it is legal and I have to convince other collegues from my association of that, since they believe it is not-legal and therefor a balk!

Raoul

It is legal to do this toward any base that is occupied as long as the base is occupied or a play is being made. The only thing is that you cannot feint to first or home, so you must make a throw to first to not balk if you do this jump-turn move. I can imagine the rules are basically the same when it comes to this move, but I am sure someone will clear that up too.

Peace

whitecane12 Sun Jun 22, 2003 09:38pm

Proper disengagement of the rubber
 
When the pitcher has his pivot foot in contact with the rubber (usually in the set position with a runner on second), he must maintain contact with the rubber unless he disengages the rubber. Raising the pivot foot off the ground requires that he disengage to the rear of the rubber.

Any time I've seen a pitcher do the jump, spin and throw move to second the pivot foot remains on the home plate side of the rubber and therefore has not properly disengaged the rubber. In order to be a legal move to second the pitcher must either disengage to the rear of the rubber first, then complete his turn and throw or he must turn toward second while maintaining contact with the rubber, step toward second and throw.

In my viewpoint, the jump and turn throw to second is a balk because of breaking contact with the rubber with the pivot foot without disengaging it immediately.

Any thoughts on that?

David B Mon Jun 23, 2003 12:54am

where's Tee when we need him?
 
Just what we needed was another thread about a balk
to second base?

I would have to say I would like to see the umpire try to explain how this is supposed to be a balk?

First he would have to explain it, then he would have to eject both assistant coaches and then ...

Thanks
David

bob jenkins Mon Jun 23, 2003 07:43am

Re: Proper disengagement of the rubber
 
Quote:

Originally posted by whitecane12
In my viewpoint, the jump and turn throw to second is a balk because of breaking contact with the rubber with the pivot foot without disengaging it immediately.

Any thoughts on that?

It's a legal move -- considered to be "from the rubber."


whitecane12 Mon Jun 23, 2003 07:54am

Re: Re: Proper disengagement of the rubber
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by whitecane12
In my viewpoint, the jump and turn throw to second is a balk because of breaking contact with the rubber with the pivot foot without disengaging it immediately.

Any thoughts on that?

It's a legal move -- considered to be "from the rubber."


Thanks, gentlemen. I'll accept that. Since there doesn't seem to be a definitive rule either way it leaves it as a judgment call by the umpire and the coaches can't point to a rule for purposes of a protest so I'll go with the legal move. One less chance for controversy and that is always a good thing!

IHSAIllini Mon Jun 23, 2003 12:24pm

Definitely judgement. I don't call a balk unless there's a clear violation of the rule in general, it disrupts the flow of the game. But nevertheless the rules are the rules. As for the jump-turn, nah. The jump turns as taught by our local travel coaches are such that it's technically legal. So good coaching there.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1